New England

Images

Archaeologist David Starbuck points to the site of a mid-1700s merchant's store on an historic map in Fort Edward, N.Y., on Thursday, Aug. 6, 2009.

David Starbuck, top right, observes work at a riverside parcel that was home to merchant's store in the mid-1700s in Fort Edward, N.Y., on Thursday, Aug. 6, 2009.

David Starbuck holds pottery fragments recovered from a riverside parcel that was home to merchant's store in the mid-1700s in Fort Edward, N.Y., on Thursday, Aug. 6, 2009.

Images and captions from AP Images

America's Historical Newspapers
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
American History, 1493-1945: From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York
Covers American history from the earliest settlers to 1945. Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American history.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Allows users to explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
British Periodicals
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the mid twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Colonial America
Offers access to a unique collection of manuscript and printed material from the archives of the British government, one invaluable for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history.
Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Hartford Courant (1764-1991) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
America's longest continuously published newspaper, The Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation. Study life in the U.S. from its very formation during the American Revolution, to its near collapse during the Civil War, and to its growth throughout the 20th century.
Virginia Company Archives
On 10th April 1606, King James I issued a patent founding a Royal Council for Virginia. Its purpose was to explore and establish a colony in North America. The Council became known as the Company.

Books and other Secondary Sources

The Oxford handbook of North American archaeology
Pauketat, Timothy (ed.)
2012
Online Access

America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.