Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Allows users to explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collections
Draws content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Historical content covers Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States as well as the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers. Focuses on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States. Content includes articles, broadsides, pamphlets, rare books, and personal and organizational manuscripts. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), indexed and searchable in both languages.
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company’s operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection.
Indigenous Peoples of North America
Sources collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth (17th) into the twentieth (20th) century. Includes diverse manuscripts, book collections, and newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations.
Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier
"Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier is part of the Library of Congress' Global Gateway project to establish cooperative digital libraries with national libraries around the world." Browse by theme or collection, or use the "exploration" feature to find timelines, images, and other historical information.
New Mexico Digital Collections
A digital portal to access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state.
Books and other Secondary Sources
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).