Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clearinghouses and Registries
Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
Evidence-based programs that help young people reach their full potential from the Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, Institute of Behavioral Science, University of Colorado Boulder
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
"The mission of the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC) is to advance the effective implementation of evidence-based practices for children and families involved with the child welfare system. The primary goal of this website is to provide a searchable database of programs that can be utilized by professionals that serve children and families involved with the child welfare system. Each program description contains easily accessible and vital information, including, at a minimum, a CEBC Scientific Rating, citations and summaries of relevant published peer-reviewed research studies conducted on the program, a brief description of the program, and training and contact information."
Evidence Based Practices for Substance Abuse Disorders
The EBP Substance Use Database is a small, but growing, database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders. Interventions were selected according to criteria described on the About EBP page. Each record in the database includes a description of the intervention and its implementation, populations for which it has been shown to be effective, references to supporting literature, the availability of instructional manuals, and author/developer notes and other useful information.
KTDRR: Knowledge Translation for Disability and Rehabilitation Research.
This Registry gathers in one place systematic reviews of research studies on disability and rehabilitation topics salient to researchers, persons with disabilities, their families, and service providers.
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
NGC supports AHRQ's mission to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable by providing objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. National Institute for Health Research, United Kingdom.
Social Programs That Work
This site seeks to identify those programs found in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and society. The purpose is to enable policy officials and other readers to readily distinguish these programs from the many others that claim to have such evidence.
Suicide Prevention Research Center: Evidence Based Prevention
The Suicide Prevention Resource Center (SPRC) is the only federally supported resource center devoted to advancing the implementation of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention. SPRC is funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Practicing evidence-based prevention means using the best available research and data throughout the process of planning and implementing your suicide prevention efforts.
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.
What Works in Reentry Clearinghouse
The clearinghouse offers online access to important research on the effectiveness of various reentry programs, synthesizes quality research on the effectiveness of different reentry interventions, and uses a ratings system to help visitors make thumbnail assessments on the effectiveness of a given program or practice. Each study included in the clearinghouse is reviewed, summarized, and synthesized by Urban Institute researchers.
youth.gov is the U.S. government website that helps you create, maintain, and strengthen effective youth programs. Included are youth facts, funding information, and tools to help you assess community assets, generate maps of local and federal resources, search for evidence-based youth programs, and keep up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Clinical Updates and Practice Guidelines
"Clinical Updates - a new series of documents intended to address three topic areas: the psychiatric assessment and management of special populations of children and adolescents; the psychiatric assessment and management of children and adolescents in specific settings; and the application of specific psychiatric techniques to children and adolescents."
"Clinical Practice Guidelines, a new series of documents intended to address the assessment and treatment (psychopharmacological and psychosocial) of child and adolescent psychiatric disorders."
APA Professional Practice Guidelines
"APA has approved as policy a variety of professional practice guidelines and related criteria in areas such as multicultural practice, child custody evaluations and treatment of gay, lesbian and bisexual clients. These guidelines address psychological practice with particular populations (e.g., older adults) or in particular areas (e.g., parenting coordination) without focusing on specific disorders or treatments."
The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to promote reliable research, accurate diagnosis, and thus appropriate treatment and patient care. See the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines.
Systematic Review and Other Sources
The Campbell Collaboration provides systematic reviews in order to help inform policy and service decisions regarding the effectiveness of certain interventions. The Social Welfare Coordinating Group section features both completed reviews and reviews in progress. The library of systematic reviews can be searched by title, author, or keyword, or browsed by broad subject categories (social and human sciences, education, politics, law and economics), most recent documents, or those accessed most frequently.
Cochrane Collaboration Library
You can access the summaries of these systematic reviews in health care and health policy, or request relevant Cochrane Reviews in full text via Interlibrary Loan. For additional information about Cochrane Reviews, see our related FAQ
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Includes PICO search interface; can limit by evidence type.
Search healthevidence.org for access to 4,885 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. We search the published literature and compile public health relevant reviews -- eliminating your need to search and screen individual databases.
SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Web Guide
The Evidence-Based Practices (EBP) Web Guide features research findings and details about EBPs used to prevent and treat mental and substance use disorders.
Social Work Policy Institute EBP Resources
An extensive list of resources, including "tools that can be used to identify EBPs, online resources that can inform the EBP process and a list of publications for further information."
Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice Training Modules
The EBBP.org project creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice.
PRISMA Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
National Implementation Research Network (NIRN)
"Research and evaluation are a main focus of the National Implementation Research Network. Currently, very little is known about the processes required to effectively implement evidence-based programs on a national scale. Rigorous research to support the implementation activities that are being used is even scarcer. A major goal of the National Implementation Research Network is to help establish an evidence base for the implementation processes and practices of evidence-based programs. The beginning steps in this effort have been taken with a review of the components thought to be necessary for implementation, a review of the research literature related to those components, and a review of the current implementation practices of evidence-based programs."
Social Work Specialized Topics: Systematic Reviews (NYU research guide)
Defines systematic reviews and meta-analysis in social work and lists sources for finding them. New York University Library research guide.