Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Peer-Reviewed eJournals in Islamic Studies
Below are some of the eJournals in Islamic Studies that the University of Denver subscribes to. Don't see the journal you're looking for? Search some of the resources in the box below to see if we subscribe to it electronically!
Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life focuses on topical issues and takes an interdisciplinary approach that benefits from a cross-cultural perspective: articles will explore the relationship between Islam and its contemporary cultural, material, gender, economic, political, and religious expressions from different socio-scientific perspectives, such as anthropology, sociology, education, politics, international relations, ethnomusicology, arts, film studies, economics, human rights, international law, diaspora minority studies, demography, and ethics.
Covers Islamic Studies as a mature scientific field dedicated to historical and cultural research, independent of the then-prevailing field of Oriental philology.
Islamic Law & Law of the Muslim World
The only Social Science Research Network (SSRN) journal that focuses on this area of law, the Islamic Law and Law of the Muslim World Research Paper Series at New York Law School is a unique forum—multidisciplinary, international, and instantly accessible—for posting and locating current scholarship in the field.
Islamic Law and Society
Islamic Law and Society provides a forum for research in the field of classical and modern Islamic law, in Muslim and non-Muslim countries. Islamic Law and Society has established itself as an invaluable resource for the subject both in the private collections of scholars and practitioners as well as in the major research libraries of the world. Islamic Law and Society encourages discussion on all branches of Islamic law, with a view to promoting an understanding of Islamic law, in both theory and practice, from its emergence until modern times and from juridical, historical and social-scientific perspectives.
Covers philosophical and religious implications of data that originate in the physical, biological and social sciences. The journal also publishes articles that enhance our understanding of the Islamic intellectual tradition with special emphasis on the Islamic scientific tradition.
Journal of Islamic Studies
The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research. The Journal seeks to place Islam and the Islamic tradition as its central focus of academic inquiry and to encourage comprehensive consideration of its many facets; to provide a forum for the study of Islam and Muslim societies in their global context; to encourage interdisciplinary studies of the Islamic world that are crossnational and comparative; to promote the diffusion, exchange and discussion of research findings; and to encourage interaction among academics from various traditions of learning.
Studia Islamica offers to the learned public, and not to Islamic scholars only, papers written by qualified specialists on subjects from all sections of the vast field of Islamic studies. Special attention is paid to discussions of method to comprehensive views, and to new conclusions.
Full-Text Academic Journal Collections
A tool to help you identify online journals to which University Libraries has access.
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Extended access to collections until June 30, 2022. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.