Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Commercial Digital Image Collections
A nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine, every page of every issue, along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue's website also has images from their covers: https://www.vogue.com/slideshow/vogue-covers-photos
Library of Congress Image Collections
Includes historic photograph collections.
Denver Public Library's Digital Collection
The Denver Public Library's Western History/Genealogy collection contains photographs, art, maps, architectural drawings and, other documents chronicling the history of Denver and the west.
Art Source International: Historic Colorado Photographs
This company has accumulated over 2000 original glass plates, negatives and original photographs of Colorado dating from around 1865 to 1940. Fee-based collection. This site includes photos by well known western photographers such as William Henry Jackson, J.B. Sturtevant (a.k.a. Rocky Mountain Joe), Louis McClure, in addition to many one of a kind images. Many of the photographs illustrate historic Boulder, Denver, and Aspen as well as over 50 other Colorado cities
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."
Use the "Search The Commons" search box to limit your search to results from participating institutions.
Source for public domain image and audiovisual files, with information about using the files legally and fairly.
A wide array of images from across the disciplines, but quality can be uneven and may not include attribution of original source. If you plan to post images found via Google on the Web or use them in a publication, ensure you have permissions from the original source.
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.