Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
This resource contains national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016, including some bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions.
Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides researchers the ability to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to history. One can find front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types.
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
A collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, bringing the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
The Transnational Adoptee Oral History Project documents the experiences of transnationally and transracially adopted students at Smith College. The project consists of eight oral histories (video recordings and transcripts) conducted during October 2017 by Rebecca York and Leigh Johnston, both members of Smith Class of 2018.Transcripts and video interviews are available online.
A nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million images, videos, panoramas, and audio files contributed by museums, galleries, and other cultural organizations around the world. Artstor is now integrated with robust primary source collections accessible on JSTOR.
