When citing a signed article in a dictionary or encyclopedia (for instance, in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, or The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music), treat the article as an essay in a collection:
N:
Alan Walker, Maria Eckhardt, and Charnin Mueller, "Liszt, Franz [Ferenc]." In The New Grove
Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., ed. Stanley Sadie, vol. 14,
Kufferath to Litton (London: MacMillan, 2001), 756.
B:
Walker, Alan, Maria Eckhardt, and Charnin Mueller. "Liszt, Franz [Ferenc]." In The New Grove
Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed., Edited by Stanley Sadie.
Vol. 14, Kufferath to Litton, 755-877. London: MacMillan, 2001.
When citing an article in Grove Online, there are some differences. You won't use the print title, or edition, volume, and page numbers, and instead of the facts of print publication, you will state the name of the online database: Grove Music Online. (You may also state Oxford Music Online; they are equivalent.) Be sure to state the date of online publication or revision - not all were published at the same time, and some have been updated.
N:
Dolores Pesce, Maria Eckhardt, and Charnin Mueller, "Liszt, Franz [Ferenc]." Revised
April 24, 2023. Oxford Music Online.
B:
Pesce, Dolores, Maria Eckhardt, and Charnin Mueller. "Liszt, Franz [Ferenc]." Revised
April 24, 2023. Oxford Music Online.
Do not state the URL shown in the article, since it contains the DU database proxy and would be unusable for anyone who could not authenticate with a DU credential.
To cite an unsigned article, state the title of the dictionary or encyclopedia, the abbreviation "s.v." ("sub verbo") and the title of the article, followed by the facts of publication.
N:
Harvard Dictionary of Music, s.v. "Liszt, Franz." (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1964), 233-58.
B:
Harvard Dictionary of Music, s.v. "Liszt, Franz." Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1964.
