Library Guides: INTS 4989 North American Defense and Security: Home

Country Reports - Freely Available

CIA World Factbook
This has been a trusted source of country information for many years. Currently it contains background for 266 entities. For back issues of the Factbook, see the record in HathiTrust (below).
CIA World Factbook - back issues
Digitized back issues from 1981 onward.
State Department Countries & Areas
This poorly-branded State Department site is quite helpful. It links to current administrative actions and news releases involving the countries.
Country Commercial Guides – International Trade Administration
Contains sections on "Doing Business In," trade barriers, business travel, import and export information, and the political and economic environment.
World Bank - Countries and Economies
Visually attractive graphs showing relevant statistics and indexes. Clicking on the Country Profile link will show 30 years of data for major statistical categories.
Coface Country Risk Reports
Contains 160 country risk assessments freely available from a private company.
BBC News Country Profiles
Provides background information with links out to in-country government websites (under Related Internet Links).

Country Reports - Licensed Databases

Political Risk Yearbook
Provides background information, including geography, history, international relationships and economic conditions as well as government policies that can affect business conditions of a country and risk factors for turmoil for over 100 countries.
Nexis Uni
To find country reports and risk analysis, try one or both of these strategies:
Strategy 1: Do a News search [your topic], then filter by Publication Type: Country & Region Reports, then filter by Source: Economist Intelligence Unit
Strategy 2: Do a News search with a country name as a headline AND SWOT – Example headline(bermuda) AND SWOT
OxResearch
Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. Note that the content is not being updated (since 2018).
Statesman's Yearbook
Published annually since 1864. Includes names of heads of state and key leadership positions, historical chronologies, statistical overviews, and topical surveys of the economy, environment, trade, communications, and social issues.
Business Source Complete
For country reports, use this strategy:
Search for country name as subject, then use click the Country Reports facet under Source Types in the left margin to limit results.

News Sources

Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Central, ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
World Newspapers
A regional listing of world newspapers and other news sources from World Press Review.
Global Breaking Newswires
Part of ProQuest Central, this resource provides timely access to newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources.
Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Government Information using Power Google Searching

The first thing you need to find out is the top-level domain (TLD) for the country you are trying to research. To find this, use this Wikipedia page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Country_code_top-level_domain.

Next, try to discover what the government site or sites are. Countries can design this any way they wish, so there are no universal rules. Here are the TLDs for countries currently being used for this course:

Bahamas .bs - Government: gov.bs

Bermuda .bm – Government: gov.bm

Canada .ca - Government sites vary: gc.ca, canada.ca, and others

Mexico .mx - Government: gob.mx

Turks and Caicos Islands .tc – Government: gov.tc

Arctic Region – try searching the countries within the region having territorial claims: Canada (.ca), Denmark (via Greenland) (.gl or .dk), Finland (.fi), Iceland (.is), Norway (.no), Russia (.ru), Sweden (.se) and the United States (via Alaska) (.gov, .mil, and others).

TLD Searching Examples:

site:gov.tc threat assessment

site:gc.ca threat assessment filetype:pdf

site:gov.bm security risk analysis filetype:pdf

Other Relevant Databases

Homeland Security Digital Library
A portal to material that can be found in other databases (Congressional Research Service reports, GAO reports and testimony, DTIC documents, RAND publications) as well as materials not easily located in other places, such as theses from the Naval Postgraduate School.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Recent CRS reports tend to be non-partisan and give clear, concise background information on public policy topics.
United Nations Treaty Collection
The official international repository for both bilateral and multilateral treaties.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline contains the best treaty collection anywhere. Navigate to the World Treaty Library in the alphabetical list.

Corruption Perceptions Index
Published by Transparency International.
State Department - Foreign Bureaus
Links to all areas of the world with State Department news and developments.

Subject Guide

Christopher C. Brown

Email Me

Contact:

University Libraries

University of Denver

(303) 871-3404

Subjects: Area Studies, Government Information, International Studies, Law / Legal Studies, Political Science, Statistics / Datasets

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides