This digital archive contains translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages with personal views of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives. In selected cases, recorded voices of the immigrants are available.

Provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Features 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.

A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database that provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture and daily life in 19th-century America of interest to both professional and general researchers.

Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.

When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.

After being provoked by Joseph Pulitzer's New York World newspaper for her unconventional religious ideas, 87-year-old Mary Baker Eddy founded The Christian Science Monitor.

A project in progress with the goal of digitizing Colorado's historic newspapers from the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries.

Provides news, business, features, sports and an editorial section for the region and has bureaus throughout the state of Colorado and in Washington, D.C.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

America's longest continuously published newspaper, The Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation. Study life in the U.S. from its very formation during the American Revolution, to its near collapse during the Civil War, and to its growth throughout the 20th century.

Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

For over 100 years, the largest paper in Indiana has been a watchdog and advocate for its community. Early on, it promoted the creation of the city's first charter, exposed graft by the state's Supreme Court judges, and won a libel suit filed against it by the U.S. government when the paper dared to question Roosevelt's work on the Panama Canal.

Serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.

Historical newspapers including The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)‎, The American Israelite (1854-1922)‎, The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)‎, & The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)‎

The Jewish Exponent has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life.

Delivers unique coverage of the development of Southern California and the American West.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It may be known as "America's newspaper," but for more than a century, The New York Times has commanded an international readership. Includes today's articles.

Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.

Horace Greeley, founder of the New York Tribune, was arguably one of the most colorful and powerful publishers of his time. His editorials influenced the abolishment of slavery, plagued presidents and politicians, and encouraged the settlement of the West.

Not earthquakes, not fires, not even the murder of one of its owners by a minister could stop the independent and often irreverent presses of the San Francisco Chronicle.

At the turn of the 20th century, St. Louis was the fourth largest city in the U.S., home to a large population of German and Irish immigrants, and a major crossroads for the migration of Americans to the West and North. The St. Louis Post-Dispatch captures this movement and the growth of a nation, and provides a Midwestern perspective on major events of the day.

In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal (formerly known as the Customers' Afternoon Letter) as a markets-focused newspaper for the country's then-fewer than 200,000 shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues.

Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post (1877-1993) is an unparalleled resource for today's budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.

These 200 years of accounts are essential to the study of British history and culture at crucial periods in the nation’s development as a world power. With the East and West India Companies and its military strength, England was the center of trade, power and culture during this period. This collection gives new freshness and immediacy to historical events and reflects the cultural trends, political currents and social problems of the day.

Searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

More than 160 regional and local newspapers, held by the British Library, published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

Delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue in 1888 through 2016. Every article, advertisement and market listing is included — shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. Each item has been subject- or topic-categorized for fast retrieval and review.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), both part of the ProQuest Historical Newspaper program, give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

Contains the entire run of this historical news source, including all Special Numbers and Reports, reproduced in high-quality color facsimile images.

Explore nearly 150 years of the Emerald Isle's turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate with The Irish Times (1859-2008) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). From the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today's most pressing global social issues, Ireland's "only independent newspaper" lends its authoritative voice to local and international events alike.

Fully searchable collection providing Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries featured from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered "incendiary." Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. Allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.