The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
From zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs, 1980s Culture and Society is an eclectic and multi-faceted resource compiled from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Capturing diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.
Documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.
Comprising extensive collections from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans, this digital resource shows how World War Two changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and their families, and the legacy of the war in human terms.
Presents the archival records of the American Committee on Africa (ACOA) from its foundation in 1953 through to 1981 and charts the organization's involvement in African liberation struggles in the twentieth century. This rich source material documents the ACOA's work to inform the American public on African issues, expand US solidarity with liberation movements throughout Africa, and work with leaders and activists across Africa to drive political change. The collection covers a wide range of intersecting themes, from social justice, civil rights, and decolonization, to US anti-apartheid movements and Africa during the Cold War.
Explores the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. The materials contains minutes, reports, correspondence, first-hand accounts, publicity materials and circulars relating to human rights violations of all kinds in all parts of the world.
Presents the surviving corpus of Topical Budget newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company between 1911 and 1931, digitized from the collections of the British Film Institute and Imperial War Museums (IWM). Provides a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.
Bringing together unique primary sources drawn from key archival collections, The Olympic Movement presents a documentary record of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage, researchers can chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.
Brings together documents from six of London’s principal livery companies, spanning the years 1450 to 1750. The rich and varied records document the central role that these wealthy and powerful institutions played in the commercial, financial, political and cultural activity of the city. They provide fascinating insights into life in early modern London, covering a broad variety of themes as well as reactions to key historical events such as the Reformation, the English Civil War, the Great Plague, and the Great Fire of London.
Guides by Subject
