Library Guides: HE4214: Historiographies : Select Digital Archives & Sources by Topic

Support for Trans Students & State Legislation

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
Collections spanning from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990, focusing on gender and LGBTQ studies, women's studies, American studies, civil and human rights, journalism, social movement history, and British twentieth-century history.
Digital Transgender Archive This link opens in a new window
An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and through personal diaries and correspondence. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labour, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity, and the family

Selected from Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies: Primary Sources and Digital Collections LibGuide created by Jenny Bowers and Louise Treff-Gangler. Their guide includes oral history collections, so be sure to check it out.

ACLU Anti-LGBT Bill Tracking
The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)'s "Mapping Attacks on LGBTQ Rights in U.S. State Legislatures" webpage.
Education Commission of the States (ECS)
An interstate agency that tracks educational policy, translates research, provides advice and "creates opportunities for state policymakers to learn from one another".
National Center for Transgender Equality State Action Center
"The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice."

Abolitionist Pedagogy & Educator profiles

Abolitionist Teaching Network
Abolitionist Teaching Network's mission is to develop and support those in the struggle for educational liberation by utilizing the intellectual work and direct action of Abolitionists in many forms.
Black Teacher Archive
An archival initiative to preserve the political and intellectual contributions of Black educators before 1970.
Celebrating the Collections of HBCUs
Celebrating the Collections of Historically Black Colleges and Universities is a compilation of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes thousands of digital objects that represent HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitially available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance. For use and permission to publish, please contact the individual organization.
more...less...
The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events, representing HBCUs as cultural, social, and political institutions from the early 1800s until today.
The History Makers
The HistoryMakers is a national 501©(3) non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
The national biography for the United States. More than 17,000 biographical sketches for deceased individuals who contributed to shaping the U.S.
African American Biographical Database This link opens in a new window
Brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source.

Auraria Campus

Auraria Library Digital Collections
The Auraria Library Digital Collections serves as the holistic digital repository for the three schools that make up Auraria Campus, as well as the Auraria Higher Education Center (AHEC) and Auraria Library itself. The ALDC encompasses various collections of digitized historical and scholarly materials ranging from faculty journal articles to the rich and robust collections of Auraria Library Special Collections. Historical photographs, manuscript collections, rare books, data and audiovisual material all make up the myriad collections of the Digital Collections and will always be free to use for all visitors.

Relevant collections:

Auraria History Collection
West Side Recorder
West Side Recorder was one of many community-driven and activist newspapers that supported predominantly Chicanx and Latine neighborhoods of West Denver. It reported everything from neighborhood events, to major municipal issues, to the local appearances of activists like Cesar Chavez. It also served as a voice for the community during the displacement of Auraria neighborhood residents prior to the establishment of Auraria Campus. This collection comprises a decade of West Side Recorder from 1964 to 1974 with only a few issue gaps.
Bill Trimble Collection
The Bill Trimble Collection consists of over 500 images documenting the built environment of the Auraria neighborhood prior to its demolition.

Diversity Initiatives

American Council on Education (ACE)
ACE conducts public policy advocacy, research, and other initiatives related to key higher education issues and offers leadership development programs to its members and others in the higher education community.
Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE)
ASHE is a scholarly society dedicated to higher education as a field of study. The Association promotes collaboration among its members and others engaged in the study of higher education through research, conferences, and publications, including its highly regarded journal, The Review of Higher Education.
Association of American Colleges & Universities (AACU)
The American Association of Colleges and Universities is a global membership organization dedicated to advancing the vitality and democratic purposes of undergraduate liberal education.
National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE) Resources
The National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education is the leading voice for current and aspiring diversity leaders. It sets the industry standard for relevant scholarship, exemplary standards of practice, meaningful professional development, and passionate community support.
more...less...
The Framework for Advancing Racial Equity and Anti Racism Strategy on Campus is a signature framework of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education. It addresses ten priority areas where anti-racism strategies would significantly improve conditions for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) students, faculty, and staff and that are applicable for a variety of college and university types.

Each priority area includes areas of concern in which diversity officers should concentrate their focus, as well as areas of effort where changes can be enacted and resources allocated at their respective institutions. The framework also poses several questions that diversity officers should consider as they implement anti-racism strategies into campus operations. The Framework is a living document, which will expand over time. The Framework represents the ongoing sustained work to be embedded in the infrastructure of these institutions. The Framework also confronts policies through action to advance equity.

For additional web resources for education see the Education LibGuide created by Bridget Farrell

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

HE4214: Historiographies : Select Digital Archives & Sources by Topic

The University Archives

Support for Trans Students & State Legislation

Abolitionist Pedagogy & Educator profiles

Auraria Campus

Diversity Initiatives

Tips for identifying sources

Strategic Google searches