Skip to main content

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services): Home

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Description

WRDS provides "business data, providing researchers worldwide with instant access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface."  DU's subsciption includes access to the following:

  • Compustat –  “Provides global “market information on active and inactive publicly held companies.”  Access to Execucomp is also available here.  
  • CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) – CRSP “maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for  the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets.”
  • Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes (Daily and Monthly) – “Covers the Dow Jones Averages and the Dow Jones Total Return Indexes.
  • Eventus – “Performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.”

Alumni members of the community, research colleagues outside the university, and other persons not actively employed or registered with the university do not qualify to access this database.

This database is provided by the Daniels College of Business.

Ask Us!

DU faculty, PhD students, Full-time Masters Research Assistants

Current DU faculty, PhD students, and Full-time Masters Research Assistants for faculty may request their own WRDS accounts using their du.edu email address.  This will then allow access by login ID and Password to the database, as well as disk storage. 

To submit an account request, click on the link below and click on "Register for a WRDS account" once you are at the WRDS page.

University of Denver’s license with WRDS does not allow you to use the data downloaded from this database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor. 

Masters Accounts

Graduate students can also apply for a masters account.  These accounts are only provided by quarter.  They are also totally suspended during the summer (at the end of spring quarter until the beginning of Fall quarter), and new masters account requests are not filled during that time. 

These accounts do NOT include disk storage and they expire at the end of each quarter.  Click on the link below to make your request.

University of Denver’s license with WRDS does not allow you to use the data downloaded from this database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor. 

WRDS Day Pass Access

To access by this method, you must be currently enrolled or employed at the University of Denver.  This Day Pass only allows you to access the database for the day that you make the request from the workstation noted below.  To access by this method take the steps below:

  1. Contact the Research Center at 303-871-2905, or click here to set up an appointment to use Workstation #2 located in the Main Library at Anderson Academic Commons.
  2. From Workstation #1, click on WRDS Day Pass Access and register using your du.edu email in the search box provided and submit.
  3. WRDS will then send an email with the URL allowing you to access the database only on the day of the request, on this workstation. 
  4. Please be sure to bring a USB flash drive to save any data that you gather.

University of Denver’s license with WRDS does not allow you to use the data downloaded from this database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor. 

 

Reference Librarian

Esther Gil's picture
Esther Gil
Subjects: Accounting, Business Information & Analytics, Economics, Finance, Hospitality Management, Management, Marketing, Real Estate & Construction Management
Contact:
University Libraries
2150 E. Evans Ave.
Denver, CO 80210
303-871-3412