Skip to main content

Library Instruction Services: Research Workshops Schedule

The reference librarians at University Libraries offer many different instructional workshops, guides, and tutorials to help the DU community learn about library research. Please take a look at our guide to see what we have to offer!

Library Workshops

Library Workshops Schedule

Each quarter our reference librarians offer a number of instructional workshops that cover a variety of useful topics and resources.

All workshops are free and open to current DU students, faculty, and staff.

Workshops take place in AAC 275 (The Herold Room) or online through Zoom. If you register for an online workshop, instructions on how to access the virtual classroom will be emailed to you the morning of the workshop.


Scroll down to check dates, times, and find out more about upcoming workshops.
Then, click the button below to register!

Click Here to Register for Library Workshops

 

A New Easy Way to Access Full Text Articles!

Access Full Text Articles

Want a faster way to access full text articles from the library? Get a magic full text button that follows you around the web with the library’s new Anywhere Access subscription, then organize the PDFs you find with the library’s new Papers reference manager. Anywhere Access is a browser extension that you install in your favorite browser (such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge), while Papers is an online library of your PDFs you can log into from any computer. Come learn how to streamline your research with these two new tools!

 

Lead Instructor: Meg Eastwood

Thursday, April 18, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

OFFERED SIMULTANEOUSLY
AAC 275 - Herold Room

Online - Link will be shared on day of workshop

Turabian Citation

Struggling with Turabian citation styles? Join us to get tips and tricks for citing correctly and efficiently. This workshop will focus on the basic aspects of creating citations and will introduce you to invaluable reference resources.

 

Lead Instructor: Chris Brown

Monday, April 22, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

OFFERED SIMULTANEOUSLY
AAC 275 - Herold Room
Online - Link will be shared on day of workshop

Three Googles

Tired of getting so many irrelevant hits when you search the Web? Come find out how to leverage three Google tools to find relevant information.  Participants will learn how to use Google Web, Google Scholar, and Google Book search to uncover primary materials, scholarly journal content, and to search deep within books that the library owns.

 

Lead Instructor: Chris Brown

Tuesday, April 23, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM 

OFFERED SIMULTANEOUSLY
AAC 275 - Herold Room
Online - Link will be shared on day of workshop

Streaming Media

Streaming Media

Did you know your membership in the DU community comes with free, no-advertising access to over 10 million streaming audio tracks, tens of thousands of documentary and feature films, and stage performances, plus Comcast Xfinity live TV? This workshop will introduce you to streaming multimedia resources available to you for research, instruction, exploration, or just kicking back and relaxing.
 
 

Lead Instructor: Woody Colahan

Friday, April 26, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM (RESCHEDULED FROM APRIL 25)

AAC 275 - Herold Room

Literature Review Searching

Do you need to write a literature review for a class project, capstone, thesis, or dissertation? Are you finding the process overwhelming? Learn how to take control of the literature with this workshop! Participants will learn about general search strategies, and the basic components of a literature review. This workshop does not cover writing style or formatting.

 

Lead Instructor: Elia Trucks

Tuesday, April 30, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

AAC 275 - Herold Room

Refworks

Is trying to figure out how to make a bibliography or works cited page giving you a headache? Come learn how to use RefWorks, a Web-based bibliography manager. Participants will be introduced to the basic functions of RefWorks including setting up an account, exporting citations from research databases, creating folders, organizing citations, and creating a bibliography or references list.

 

Lead Instructor: Diane Anderson

Wednesday, May 1, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

AAC 275 -  Herold Room

Library 101

Need an introduction or a refresher on the resources and services available at University Libraries? Come learn about the most popular library resources and services. Participants will learn how to find books in the library, request materials from other libraries, and locate online journal articles.

 

Lead Instructor: Brenna Cox

Thursday, May 2, 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Online - Link will be shared on day of workshop

 

Questions

About Registration

To register for one or more of the upcoming workshops, please click the button at the top of the page to open the registration form.

After submitting your registration, you will receive a confirmation email containing details about the workshops you have selected.

For questions about registration, please contact Lani at lani.manion@du.edu 
or call (303) 871-2422.

Consultations

Can't make it to a workshop, but need research help?

Research consultations are available in-person, over the phone, and online via Zoom virtual meeting.

Request a Research Consultation

Visit libraryhelp.du.edu for consultation hours.


UA-10614684-6