This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 1520 Immigrant Voices in Modern America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 1520 Immigrant Voices in Modern America   Tags: diversity, inclusive_excellence, irise  

This is a course research guide for students in HIST 1520.
Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.du.edu/hist1520 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome!  This research guide will provide you with tips and tricks for finding both primary and secondary sources on American Immigrants.  A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news footage, and autobiographies.  A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources.  These sources are one or more steps removed from the event.  Examples of secondary sources include journal and magazine articles, books and textbooks, commentaries, and criticisms.

To get started, review the tips below for searching for primary and secondary sources and then then select a tab above for examples of primary sources for various immigrant groups.

Finding Primary Sources

The library catalog should be your first stop to find primary sources on immigrants.  To find primary source books, use the search box below.  When searching in the library catalog, use short words and phrases.  Do not type in long sentences. Use quotes to search for an exact phrase.  If you have trouble finding primary sources, use the tabs above to find specific recommendations for searching for different immigrant groups.

Search Catalog

 

Special Tips

  • Autobiographies are often classified as biographies in the catalog.  If you search for the term biography, very carefully examine the book information to make sure that it is an autobiography.  An autobiography is a book about the life of a person, written by that person.  An autobiography is considered to be a primary source.  A biography is a book about the life of a person, written by someone other than the subject of the book.  Biographies are secondary sources. 

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature has entries on autobiographies of various enthnic groups in the United States, and will provide some names of authors of immigrants.

  • There are many historical fiction novels about American immigrants.  They may sometimes be based on real-life stories, but are not considered to be scholarly primary or secondary sources.  If you see the word "fiction" in the subject terms for a book, you will need to pick a different source.
  • When performing a keyword search for your topic, try adding one of the words below to find primary source materials.
    • diaries
    • correspondence
    • interviews
    • manuscripts
    • oratory
    • pamphlets
    • personal narratives
    • sources
    • speeches
    • letters
    • documents
    • autobiography
  • If you are not able to find what you need at University Libraries, try searching Prospector or WorldCat (listed below) to request a book from another library.
  • Prospector
    A unified catalog of 16 Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library Lending Desk in 3 to 5 days.
  • WorldCat  
      
    World's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in the Library Catalog or Prospector.

Finding Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are generally much easier to find than primary sources.  To find secondary sources, search for books in the search box below by typing in the name of your immigrant group.  The majority of the history-related books that you find will be secondary sources.  You can also search for journal articles on historical topics to use as secondary sources.  Listed below are some databases which may contain scholarly articles on your immigrant group.

Example searches:

"Irish Americans"

"German Americans"

Search Catalog
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)
    Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
  • JSTOR  
      
    A full-text database containing complete backfiles of almost 1200 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago. Click here to see a list of journals we subscribe to.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Peggy Keeran
Contact Info
University Libraries
University of Denver
Voice mail: 303.871.3410
Send Email
 

Ask Us!

Chat requires JavaScript.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip