Collections spanning from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990, focusing on gender and LGBTQ studies, women's studies, American studies, civil and human rights, journalism, social movement history, and British twentieth-century history.
Donald Stewart Lucas was born in 1926. Raised in rural Colorado, Lucas remained isolated from the rapidly modernizing United States until he left his hometown to work in the shipyards of Spokane, Washington, during the Second World War. During the war, he visited San Francisco once and was immediately enthralled with the technological wonders and the limitless opportunity that the city seemed to offer. In 1949, Lucas moved to San Francisco and remained there until he died in 1998.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin are famous for founding, in 1955, the most important early organization for lesbians, the Daughters of Bilitis. Their political influence and activism shaped many other organizations and related movements. This collection documents many decades of their work for and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women's rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally.
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) first launched in November 2003 to establish a living history archive of past and present queer zines. This is a freely available searchable database with links to view/download electronic copies of zines. Browse, search, and visit the blog.
Primary Sources -- Women
Primary sources are materials created by individuals or organizations during a specific time period. Examples include archival documents, campaign documents, correspondence, diaries, lectures, letters, or organizational documents.
Offers insight into the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women’s Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries.
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
As the movement for women's suffrage in America was accelerating, the National Woman's Party (NWP) brought to the campaign a new militancy and daring. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics.
The Committee of Correspondence Records, 1952-1989, provide a rich collection from which to explore gendered aspects of Cold War liberalism, the United States government's clandestine and overt cultural propaganda operations, women's relationships to US foreign policy, and the varied goals and methods of women's international organizations that interacted in United Nations forums and at international conferences during the first two decades of the Cold War.
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. These unique documents - charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations - are published here for the first time in fully-searchable form, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents form an indispensable resource for the study of 20th-Century social, political, military and gender history.
This collection documents Patricia Lindh's and Jeanne Holm's liaison with women's groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. It includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women's Programs Director Karen Keesling.
A collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, bringing the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
