This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Offers reliable, up-to-date information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. Includes a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. There is also a Spanish language version. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health.
NASA has compiled descriptions of datasets relevant to global change research. Topics include climate change, the biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
A global directory/catalog of research data repositories covering all academic disciplines. Search by topic or keyword to find a database relevant to your project. re3data recently merged with Databib -- all information from both systems is now available through the re3data site. The combined new service will be managed under DataCite.
Provides names, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, references, and more information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
A comprehensive reference for the life histories of over 760 bird species that breed in the United States and Canada. The encyclopedic species accounts are written by recognized experts and include images, recordings of bird songs, distribution maps, conservation info, priorities for future research, and extensive reference lists of primary research articles on each species.
A global partnership between the scientific community and the general public, with the goal of making knowledge about all the world's organisms freely available to anyone. Start with the introductory biodiversity articles to learn more about life on earth, or search for a species by scientific or common name.
"Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists."
"Through science, policy and field work, we're applying smart solutions to protect the resources that we all depend on. We help communities, countries and societies protect tropical forests, lush grasslands, rivers, wetlands, abundant lakes and the sea. Only through properly valuing the essential services these ecosystems provide can we create a sustainable development path that will benefit all people for generations to come."
The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) has been working since 1990 to improve the scientific basis for environmental decision making. For its efforts, the Council has earned a reputation for objectivity, responsibility, and achievement. They are supported by over 500 academic, scientific, environmental, and business organizations, and by federal, state and local governments.
The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) is a leader in the U.S. Department of Energy's effort to secure an energy future for the nation that is environmentally and economically sustainable. Also, take a look at the Renewable Resource Data Center.
"Our vision is to leave a sustainable world for future generations. Today’s society faces unprecedented challenges. Dwindling natural resources, declining economies, a rapidly changing climate and other threats require that all of us begin working together to reach common solutions. More than ever before, we must find innovative ways to ensure that nature can continue to provide the food, clean water, energy and other services our growing population depends upon for survival."
This subset of the GeoRef database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date, references to non-USGS publications with USGS authors published from 1983 to date, and 225 references to reports produced by the Hayden, King, Powell, and Wheeler surveys.
The World Resources Institute is a global environmental think tank that goes beyond research to put ideas into action. They work with governments, companies, and civil society to build solutions to urgent environmental challenges.
This institutional repository is a service of the University of Denver Libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
Transforming learning through video. Subjects covered include Business/Training, Health, Media/Communications, Sciences, Humanities, Education (K-12). Users can search, browse and see previews of videos.
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Swank Digital Campus is a mediated resource through which DU faculty may request feature films for purchase, and DU affiliates may view library-licensed feature films. Suggested browsers: Chrome and Firefox, as Safari is not compatible with Swank Digital Campus.
The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.