Skip to main content

Diversifying Your Business Course Readings: Finding Articles

This guide provides information on how to find scholarly articles related to diversity in the field of business. References to nonbusiness databases are included.

Search Strategies for Finding Articles

To find diversity articles in business, start with the subscription databases below. Instructions for creating sample search strategies are provided.

1. ABI/INFORM Collection

  • Select your keywords and use Boolean operators and truncation in your search string.
  • Because using the default field (called "Anywhere") for this database searches the full-text of the articles and retrieves almost 220,000 results, even when limited to "Scholarly Journals," it should be more effective to enter your search in individual fields.
  • For instance, enter your search string in the "Abstract," or "Subject Heading - MAINSUBJECT"  or "Document Title" fields.
  • You can also use the "Anywhere except full text" field instead of these.

Sample search string: (divers* or multicultur* or inclus*) and (training or education)

  • You can then limit results by several categories that are located on the left-side of the results (e.g., "Peer reviewed," "Scholarly Journal," "Publication date," "Location," etc.), or by adding other terms to your search.
  • This search strategy can also be used in other Proquest databases like Proquest Central, ERIC, Social Work Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

2. Business Source Complete

  • Select your keywords and use Boolean operators and truncation in your search string.
  • Enter this in the default field, which is called "Select a Field (Optional).
  • This will search for your keywords in the "Title," "Abstract," "Subject," "Author-supplied keywords," and "Source" fields of the article records in this database. There are times, however, when it also searches the full text article in the record.
  • You can also search within each field by selecting it and rerunning your search. 

Sample search string: (divers* or multicultur* or inclus*) and (team* or group*) and effective*

  • You can limit by several fields that are located on the left-side of the results (e.g., "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals", "Academic Journals," "Publication Date," or by adding other terms to your search.
  • This search strategy can also be used in other EbscoHost databases like Academic Search Complete, EconLit, and Gender Studies.

3. Web of Science

  • You can enter any of the search strings above in the Topic field box on the search page of this database. Using this field will  search for your keywords in the "Tile of the Article," "Author-supplied keywords," "Keyword Plus," and "Abstract" fields.
  • Since this will search the entire WoS content, which includes extensive material in the Sciences, you might want to limit the results you retrieve by specific WoS categories located in the left panel.
  • If the subject you want isn't listed in the Web of Sciences categories section located on the left side of the results, click on the "more options/values..." link.
  • From here you can select from about 100 categories, which are listed by record count.
  • Depending on the results, non-science categories can include Business, Economics, Education, Management, Social Sciences, and Sociology. Note:
  • This database does not have full-text. To obtain the full-text, click on the ArticleLinker button for the article.

Databases

Boolean Operators

                                           

 

 

Truncation

When you truncate you use the root of a word and usually an * in order to retrieve words with various endings.

Divers* = Diverse, diversity, diversify, diversified

Ethnic*  = Ethnicity, ethnicities

Fem* = Female, females, feminista, femininity, feminist, feminism

In some cases you miight end up with results you don't want, but it might be worth it once you add other keywords and the false hits aren't overwhelming.

Divers* = Diversion, diversionary

Fem* = Femtocells, femtoseconds

 

Reference Librarian / Associate Professor

Esther Gil's picture
Esther Gil
Subjects: Accounting, Business Information & Analytics, Economics, Finance, Hospitality Management, Management, Marketing, Real Estate & Construction Management
Contact:
University Libraries
2150 E. Evans Ave.
Denver, CO 80210
303-871-3412
UA-10614684-6