This guide was created by Rachel Hartman (email@example.com) and is maintained by Peggy Keeran.
Last Updated: Aug 2, 2013
- Finding Images on the Web
A guide to web resources developed by Ruth S. Thomas, Art/Art History Bibliographer, Boston University Libraries.
- Public Domain Resource Guide
Rochester Institute of Technology provides a wide array of public domain image sources in this guide.
It is the responsibility of the individual to ensure proper use of images. Be sure to determine restrictions in each case in order to satisfy copyright.
All images must be properly cited and credited, even copyright free images.
- AP Images
The AP Photos section features more than 2 million AP news photographs.
Systems requirements for ARTstor
ARTstor is an image database which "documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture." The database contains over a million images.
- Britannica Image Quest
Interdiciplinary collection of rights cleared images. Britannica joined with such publishers as Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and Oxford Scientific to create this collection.
- Berg Fashion Library
Can limit searches to images.
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time period (1600 to date) and by place.
- Vogue Archive
All issues of American Vogue from 1892 to the present. Offers full-text access. All content, including advertisements, is indexed.
- National Geographic Virtual Library Image Search
Magazine archive 1888 - Present | People, Animals, and the World.
- Wikimedia Commons
Source for public domain image and audiovisual files, with information about using the files legally and fairly.
- Google Images
A wide array of images from across the disciplines, but quality can be uneven and may not include attribution of original source. If you plan to post images found via Google on the Web or use them in a publication, ensure you have permissions from the original source.
- DU School of Art and Art History Visual Media Center News
The Visual Media Center in the School of Art and Art History at the University of Denver creates images for faculty and students at the University. The VMC News Blog will also provide access to images available on the internet from a variety of sources.
- LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
- University of Denver Art Collection