Background - FSEM 1111-52 - Chemistry and Art - Library Guides at University of Denver

Background Information

Before beginning your hunt for peer-reviewed articles, you may want to do some background reading on your topic. Reference sources such as handbooks and encyclopedias can be very helpful when collecting this background information and may also have information about the history of a art technique or chemical compound.

Credo Reference
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books, including Who's Who, and Who Was Who.

Chemistry

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
An authoritative reference including the structure and physical properties of chemical substances and compunds; mathematical formulas; and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units.

CHEMnetBase
Filled with authoritative handbooks and recent research, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Polymers Property Database; and more.
Knovel
Use the "Property Search" to find material and property information from technical references. Knovel also provides access to handbooks, case studies, and other technical documents. Their site includes online tools such as a unit converter and interactive equation worksheets that help you find and learn to solve engineering equations.

Art

Oxford Art Online
A standard art reference resource. Lengthy, scholarly entries describe and define art terms and movements worldwide. Includes biographical information about artists.
Limited to 5 concurrent users
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Contains over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to modern day, with images of artists' signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.

Reference Librarian

Alejandro Marquez

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

303-871-3412

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Geography / Geology, Health / Medicine, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Science

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

FSEM 1111-52 - Chemistry and Art: Background

Background Information

Reference Librarian