Library Guides: CHEM 1003: Resources for chemical research assignment: Peer-Reviewed Articles

Chemistry Databases

Chemistry Databases

Below are a few science-specific databases to further your chemistry research:

SciFinder-n
The updated interface for Chemical Abstracts, the world's foremost resource for chemical information. Sources include scholarly journals, chemical properties and spectra, organic reactions, regulatory information, Markush structures from patents, and more. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, registry numbers), and chemical structures. Chemical literature dates from 1907 - present.
First-time users must register here before using Scifinder-n.
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Biological Abstracts
An expansive index to scholarly journals in the life sciences fields, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. Search precisely with BIOSIS indexing, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers. Content dates from 1926 - present.
PubMed (includes MEDLINE)
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface. In addition to MEDLINE, PubMed includes articles that are waiting to be processed for MEDLINE, as well as extra life sciences journals and ebooks not included in MEDLINE.
MEDLINE (FirstSearch Database)
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Content dates from 1950 - present. This version uses the FirstSearch platform.
American Chemical Society Journals (ACS)
Provides full text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS), the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of periodicals published by the Elsevier company in the areas of business, medicine, science, social science, and technology.

General Databases

Below are a few interdisciplinary databases to start your chemistry research:

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.

Science & Engineering Librarian

Research Center Desk

Email Me

Contact:

Visit our "Make an Appointment" page to schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian.

You can also get in touch with the Research Center Desk during our operating hours at (303) 871-2905.

Subjects: *General / Interdisciplinary

Verifying Peer-Reviewed Journals

Verify Peer-Reviewed Sources

Look up a journal title (not an individual article title) in Ulrichsweb with the link below to verify whether the journal is peer-reviewed.

Ulrichsweb Ulrich's (Ulrichs) contains bibliographic data about all periodicals published worldwide, and includes reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.

Look for this referee jersey icon in the Ulrich search results to confirm that a journal is refereed/peer-reviewed. Refereed journals use a review process in which articles are reviewed by experts and respected researches to verify the validity and value of the article to the field.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

CHEM 1003: Resources for chemical research assignment: Peer-Reviewed Articles

Chemistry Databases

General Databases

Science & Engineering Librarian

Verifying Peer-Reviewed Journals