Library Guides: Target Market Research Guide: Demographics

Definition

Demographics provide a way in which the target market can be divided. Variables you can use include "age, family size, family life cycle, gender, income, occupation, education, religion, race, generation, nationality, and social class."*

This section provides selective sources where you can find demographic information about a target market. They may help you determine whether the target is stable, whether it is substantial enough to let you make a profit, and if it is different from other market segments.

Kotler, P. and Keller K.L., Marketing Management, 14th ed., Boston: Prentice Hall, 2012, p. 216.

Sources

Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Click on "Explore Your Zip Code" to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up (PRIZM/Claritas)
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
DATA USA
Comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data. A collaborative project from Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo, Professor at the MIT Media Lab and Director of Collective Learning.
City-Data.com
Statistical profiles of U.S. cities.
Census Home Page
U.S. Census Bureau home page. The official site for U.S. economic, demographic, and social statistics.

Statista
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
Mintel Academic
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (STATABS)
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Covers 1878-present
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Data Census Gov
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including
Basic Counts
Education
Income
Employment
Race

Tutorials

How to find demographic and psychographic information - Duration: 00:05:57
This video demonstrates how to find psychographic and demographic information in Mintel, a subscription database.
Population Projections - Duration: 00:02:28
You can start to determine if your target market is sustainable by using population projections from the U.S. Census. Click on the link "Population Projections" for a tutorial on how to find such data.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Target Market Research Guide

Definition

Sources

Tutorials