Skip to main content

International Studies-Degree Programs: International Human Rights

This guide, created by Benjamin Applebee, Brett Schneider and Josh Patton, is broken into the 7 major degree programs. From International Security to Human Rights, this is your one-stop-shop for all matters Global. Last updated by CWA on 7/31/12.

Campus Connections

Human Trafficking Center

The Human Trafficking Center at the Josef Korbel School of International Studies was started in 2008 to address the problem through professional research, writing, and educational outreach on human trafficking forced labor, and modern slavery. We aim to provide research that improves inter-organizational cooperation and accountability, influences policy, and raises awareness in combating human trafficking and modern slavery.

Center on Rights Development

The Center on Rights Development (CORD) was established in 1988 as part of the Josef Korbel School of International Studies at the University of Denver.

UN

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights -FULL TEXT 

"The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which was adopted by the UN General Assembly on 10 December 1948, was the result of the experience of the Second World War. With the end of that war, and the creation of the United Nations, the international community vowed never again to allow atrocities like those of that conflict happen again. World leaders decided to complement the UN Charter with a road map to guarantee the rights of every individual everywhere. The document they considered, and which would later become the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, was taken up at the first session of the General Assembly in 1946."

US State Department - Human Rights 

Links to: Country Reports; HumanRights.gov; U.S. Treaty Reports; Supporting Human Rights and Democracy: the U.S. Record; UN Human Rights Council; Related Links; Internet Freedom and DRL Programs

International Bill of Rights

Provided by University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Several primary source documents on Human Rights conventions and law. 

Slavery and Human Rights

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007  

 
  
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. This resource will be released in three phases between 2007 and 2009. University of Denver Community
Content types: Full Text


Google - Power Searching

Search Google by specifying the domain you want to search, thus forcing Google to bring choice results to the top. This is an excellent way to locate primary documents from international organizations, the U.S. government, or foreign governments.

  • slavery human trafficking site:state.gov [limits to U.S. State Dept.]
  • site:unodc.org slavery human trafficking [limits to UN Office on Drugs and Crime]
  • slavery human trafficking site:fbi.gov [limits to U.S. Federal...


Slavery in America  

Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school and community college students. The Slavery in America digital collection contains more than 600 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, monographs, sermons, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study the institution of slavery from the 17th century through the end of the 19th century...


Human Rights Watch Publications

Reports on human rights violations and conditions around the world. Reports cover countries and specific issues. University Libraries has many of these reports, including some that are not available on the HRW Web site, on microfiche. Publicly Available
Content types: Selected Full Text 

 


Country Reports on Human Rights Practices

From the perspective of the U.S. State Department, this annual report chronicles each nation's human rights record.

Research Center

Research Center Desk's picture
Research Center Desk
Contact:
Visit our "Make an Appointment" page to schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian.

You can also get in touch with the Research Center Desk during our operating hours at (303) 871-2905.

Get Help from your International Studies Liaison

Christopher C. Brown's picture
Christopher C. Brown
Contact:
University Libraries

University of Denver

(303) 871-3404