Skip to main content

Library Instruction Services: Information for Faculty

The reference librarians at University Libraries offer many different instructional workshops, guides, and tutorials to help the DU community learn about library research. Please take a look at our guide to see what we have to offer!

Workshop Options for Courses

Library instruction sessions are one of the best ways to ensure that your students develop valuable research skills. Please consider setting aside class time for a course-related workshop on library resources.

Students who have the skills to find, evaluate, and use information are more successful in their classes and will be more successful at life-long learning after graduation.

Interactive workshops tailored for specific classes, assignments, and topics typically last 50 minutes and combine demonstrations of electronic resources, discussions of search strategies, and hands-on practice.  You may also wish to allow extra time for searching practice and individual consultations. During the library building project, most workshops will be scheduled in a campus classroom.  Arrangements can also be made for the workshops to take place in a campus computer lab.

This menu is a list of the most commonly requested library instruction workshops for classes. All of the workshops listed below can be customized for a particular subject or course assignment. 

To schedule a library workshop for your class, please see the library workshop request form.

 

Introduction to Research at University Libraries

Introduction to Research at University Libraries
50 minute presentation (can add 30-45 minutes for workshop activities/ additional searching time)
These times can be broken up into varying demonstration and workshop segments as needed.

  • General Search Tips
  • Searching for Books, DVDs, and More
  • Searching for Articles (Summon)
  • Hands-on Practice Time/Consultation with Librarian

Finding and Using Articles

Finding and Using Articles
50 minute presentation (can add 30-45 minutes for workshop activities/ additional searching time)
These times can be broken up into varying demonstration and workshop segments as needed.

  • General Research Tips
  • Searching for Articles (Summon and Disciplinary Databases)
  • Overview of citation styles and brief introduction to RefWorks
  • Hands-on Practice Time/ Consultation with Librarian

The Three Googles

Three Googles
50 Minute Workshop

  • Learn about three Google tools: Google Web, Google Scholar, and Google Book search

Introduction to Refworks

Introduction to RefWorks
50 Minute Workshop

  • Basic overview of how to use RefWorks, a Web-based bibliography manager
  • How to keep track of books, reports, journal articles, and Websites and then create finished bibliographies in APA, MLA, or Chicago styles
  • Overview of relevant citation styles
  • Workshop has time built in to allow participants to setup a RefWorks account and begin exporting citation information to RefWorks.

Artists' Books at University Libraries

Artists’ Books at University Libraries
50 Minute Workshop
  • An overview of the fine press and artists’ books in the University Libraries collection.  The fine press volumes are beautifully crafted, and the artists’ books play with the idea of what a book can be.  In addition, there is a collection of fine press and artists’ books related to Shakespeare.  Students will be provided with an opportunity to work with and handle these books (clean hands). To schedule a session on Artists’ Books, please contact Michael Levine-Clark at miclark@du.edu or (303) 871-3413.

Using the Archives and Special Collections at University Libraries

Using the Archives and Special Collections at University Libraries
50 Minute Workshop

Schedule a Library Workshop

To schedule a library workshop for your course or group, please fill out the workshop request form.  You may also contact a subject librarian to discuss a possible workshop in more detail.