Library Guides: Scholarly Business Research: Databases

Strategy for Searching Databases

Before searching University Libraries subscription based databases, you should prepare your search strategy by taking the following steps:

Define topic
Brainstorm terms in order to identify keywords to use
- Words used in the search are generally in the title, abstract, source, and subject fields of a record.
Be aware of Boolean operators, which you need to use in order to search our subscription-based databases

Or – for similar terms
And – to join different ideas

For example:

tqm or total quality management

management and organizational culture

Business Databases

For other University Libraries databases visit our Databases by Subject and you will be able to select by academic discipline.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
Contains more than 4.5 million articles published in more than 2,000 periodicals, 1913 to 1983.

Other Databases

These interdisciplinary databases provide articles not only from business related journals, but from journals in other disciplines that can be useful for scholarly business research. For example, a database in psychology can help when doing research in organizational behavior.

For other University Libraries databases visit our Databases by Subject and you will be able to select by academic discipline.

Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Emerald Insight
A database of full-text articles from journals published primarily by MCB University Press. Covers a wide range of topics including business, education, engineering, library science, management and operations & production.
JSTOR
A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Also found as PsychInfo
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of periodicals published by the Elsevier company in the areas of business, medicine, science, social science, and technology.
ScienceDirect Free and Delayed Access Titles
Contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet.
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Scholarly Business Research

Strategy for Searching Databases

Business Databases

Other Databases