Skip to main content

RefWorks Tutorial: Adding Annotations to Your Bibliography

Learn how to use this powerful bibliography software to manage book and journal article citations, and create bibliographies in APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.

Customizing Your Output Style

Let's say you want RefWorks to display an annotation underneath the RefWorks citation, like this:

Bougarel, Xavier, Elissa Helms, and Ger Duijzings. 2008. The new Bosnian mosaic: Identities, memories and moral claims in a post-war society. Farnham: Ashgate Publishing Ltd
This is my original annotation.

Donia, Robert J. and John V. A. Fine. 1994. Bosnia and Hercegovina: A tradition betrayed. New York: Columbia University Press
This is my original annotation.

Doubt, Keith. 2006. Understanding evil: Lessons from Bosnia. New York: Fordham University Press
OK, now I've said it all!.

Kolind, Torsten. 2008. Post-war identification: Everyday Muslim counterdiscourse in Bosnia Herzegovina. Aarhus [Denmark]: Aarhus University Press
Can't think of what to say.

Mahmutcéhajic, ́. Rusmir. 2005. Learning from Bosnia: Approaching tradition. Vol. no. 2. New York: Fordham University Press
I want to say something original here.

To do this, follow these steps.

1. From the Bibliography menu, select Output Style Editor:

2. Select the output style you wish to edit. For this example we have chosen Turabian 7th Edition (Reference List). Then, select Save As to name it something that makes sense, like Turabian 7th Edition (Reference List) - annotations.

Your new output style appears in red in the selection list, but the original styles (the ones that come with RefWorks and cannot be changed) will appear in black:

3. Now you need to edit your newly-created style so that the annotations appear after each citation. We recommend using the User1 field for you annotations, since it will not conflict with fields imported from other databases. Add User1 after each citation type. You MUST enter this after the generic type, and then after every other type used in your bibliography:

The example above shows how to copy the User1 field over to the Output Field Order list, and then to add "Precede with \n" to the field settings. The \n adds a carriage return, important for formatting your bibliography.

4. Now, do the same step for each of the other reference types used in your bibliography.

Reference Librarian