Library Guides: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Publications: CRS Reports on the Web

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Publications

A division of the Library of Congress, the Congressional Research Service (CRS) prepares reports for members of Congress. These reports are not provided for public distribution, but several entities make selected titles available either for online viewing or for purchase of print copies.

CRS Reports on the Web

Several Web sites redistribute online versions of CRS reports.

Congressional Research Service Reports, Hosted by UNT Libraries
The University of North Texas Library hosts an award-winning site where many CRS reports are browsable by topic and searchable by full text. This is the best starting point.
more...less...
The University of North Texas Library hosts an award-winning site where many CRS reports are browsable by topic and searchable by full text. This is the best starting point.
CRS Reports from the University of Central Florida
EveryCRSReport.com
EveryCRSReport.com includes 8,484 CRS reports and growing. It includes every CRS report that’s available on Congress’s internal website.
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
Provides access to CRS reports on secrecy and information policy, intelligence, homeland security, nuclear weapons and arms control, terrorism, middle east, foreign policy and regional affairs, space policy, and other topics.
more...less...
Provides access to CRS reports on secrecy and information policy, intelligence, homeland security, nuclear weapons and arms control, terrorism, middle east, foreign policy and regional affairs, space policy, and other topics.
National Library for the Environment (NLE) - Congressional Research Service Rrports on the Eenvironment
The NLE has over 1,200 CRS reports on its Web site. These reports relate primarily to environmental topics.
more...less...
The NLE has over 1,200 CRS reports on its Web site. These reports relate primarily to environmental topics.
U.S. Department of State
The State Department provides CRS Reports and Issue Briefs related to foreign relations topics. Various revisions of the same report can be found for selected reports.
more...less...
The State Department provides CRS Reports and Issue Briefs related to foreign relations topics. Various revisions of the same report can be found for selected reports.
Members of Congress Web Pages (Congress.gov)
Once a specific title of a CRS publications has been determined using the Penny Hill site (above), users can use Google to search for the existence of an online version on a congressional Web page...
more...less...
Once a specific title of a CRS publications has been determined using the Penny Hill site (above), users can use Google to search for the existence of an online version on a congressional Web page.
For example, try searching Google like this:

site:house.gov arctic national wildlife refuge background and issues

site:senate.gov presidential veto and congressional procedure
CRS Reports on the House Web Site
CRS reports relating to the history of the House of Representatives, House rules, the budget process, and floor procedures.
more...less...
CRS reports relating to the history of the House of Representatives, House rules, the budget process, and floor procedures.
U.S. Embassy and Consulates in Italy
Selected CRS Reports.
more...less...
Selected CRS Reports.
Archive-It
These "harvested" CRS reports collected by Stanford University will eventually be added to the Internet Archive.
more...less...
These "harvested" CRS reports collected by Stanford University will eventually be added to the Internet Archive.

Reference Librarian

Christopher C. Brown

Email Me

Contact:

University Libraries

University of Denver

(303) 871-3404

Subjects: Area Studies, Government Information, International Studies, Law / Legal Studies, Political Science, Statistics / Datasets

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Publications: CRS Reports on the Web

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Publications

CRS Reports on the Web

Reference Librarian