Library Guides: Economics and Statistical Sources: Statistics

Sources

American Economic Association - Data Sources
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Datasets on employment, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes from U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Go to Data Tools for list of datasets. See Public Data API for tools to retrieve.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
Census Home Page
U.S. Census Bureau home page. The official site for U.S. economic, demographic, and social statistics.
CPI Calculator
This site from the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis provides the user a tool to calculate the consumer price index for various years.
re3data.org
Registry of research data repositories.
EconData
A guide to regional economic activity.
FRASER
FRASER, Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research, is a database of historical information and data on the U.S. economy.
FRED
FRED, Federal Reserve Economic Data, is a database of over 815,000 US and international time series from 107 sources, ranging from banking to consumer price index to regional data on different industries.

Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
International Financial Statistics
Covers the monthly publication International Financial Statistics as well as data found in the annual publication International Financial Statistics Yearbook.

International Financial Statistics - Print and online
Provides annual, quarterly, and monthly time series of economic and financial statistics on about 200 countries. Published by International Monetary Fund.

International Historical Statistics
An impressive and peerless collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics.
OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
UNdata
Features combined sources of data from various UN bodies. This is the first place to go for all UN data. Includes data from UNESCO, ILO, FAO, WHO, ITU, UNHCR, Human Development Report, Demographic Statistics, World Population Prospects, and Commodity Trade Statistics.
World Development Indicators
Features time series data on demographics, the economy, education, and the environment, for more than 200 countries from 1960-present. Data can be downloaded and manipulated.

World Economic Outlook Reports
"IMF staff economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term."

ICPSR Direct: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
An integral part of the infrastructure of social science research, ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Note: A personal account is required for downloading content. Account must be created on campus before being able to log in from off campus.