Skip to main content

Diversifying Your Business Course Readings: Diversifying Authors

This guide provides information on how to find scholarly articles related to diversity in the field of business. References to nonbusiness databases are included.

Authors

One way to diversify your course readings is to use authors that have different perspectives. You could start with an article you like, and look for other articles by the same author or authors.  Looking at other articles is a way to learn about their research interests. In Business, if you want authors that are from a minority group, you may have to go outside this discipline because there is a dearth of business faculty from underrepresented categories.

To find articles from an author you like: 

If you are in a database such as ABI/Inform Collection (ABI), Business Source Complete (BSC), or Web of Science (WoS) (scholarly only), and you have the record for an article you like:

  • Click on the author's name to find other articles he/she has published; you will retrieve only those that are in these databases.
  • You can click on the author's name from an article in Google Scholar as well.
  • Enter an author's name in the "Author" fields search boxes of these sources to find other articles by them.

To find the background information about authors, here are some ways to do this:

1. If you have the scholarly article, this will often have the author's affiliation and/or email address. 

2. If you are in ABI, BSC, or WoS, if there is author information, it will be in the record of an article.  If there is anything, it tends to be the author's affiliation and/or email address. (You can also find this in other EbscoHost and Proquest databases). If you are in Google Scholar, many authors also have profiles here. 

3. WoS provides ResearcherIDs (an internal ID number from Clarivate/Analytics) and/or OrcidID records for authors that have created them in order to manage their scholarly work. If an author has one, you can click on one of these IDs and retrieve a list of other publications they have authored, and not just the ones in WoS.

  • If you click on the ResearcherID, WoS will provide links to the records in their system.
  • If there is an OrcidID, clicking on it will also retrieve a list of publications for the author, with links, if available, regardless of the sources. However, a link will probably take you to the journal's website, which will have information about the article, and where you will be prompted to pay for it if you click on a full-text link. If you are on DU's VPN, however, you may be able to access the full-text article, if it is from a journal DU's University Libraries subscribes to.

4. When you retrieve author information from databases or from an article, you will find that many of them are faculty at universities, so go to their universities' websites and use their search engines or directories to find a faculty member. For instance, if a faculty member is from Stanford's Graduate School of Business, you would go to that website, gsb.stanford.edu, and look for a tool that allows you to search for faculty, such as a directory or search box.

5. In the case above, there is box called "Faculty & Research" and if one hovers over it there is a link to "Faculty." Clicking on this retrieves a search box in which one can enter the name of an individual, find him/or her, and retrieve a page with information about him/her.

6. Universities can provide a wide range of information, including the following:

  • A picture
  • CV
  • Personal website
  • Social media accounts (e.g., Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter)
  • Email addresses
  • Research statement
  • Biography
  • Publications - articles ( scholarly, as well as others), books
  • Presentations
  • Academic degrees
  • Awards and honors
  • Service (e.g., leadership in associations)
  • Classes taught
  • Links to personal blogs and websites
  • Country he/she is from

7. Some authors may be from organizations or companies, which can be the case for articles from publications such as Harvard Business Review. Business Source Complete often identifies entities such authors are from, so you can go to those sites and try to find information about them there.

8. If the organizations or universities of authors are not provided, but the emails are (e.g., name@cambridge-leadership.com; xxx@gsb.stanford.edu), use the information after the @ to find the website and learn about them.

9. LinkedIn is also another place you can look for author information. Records here may include the organizations and universities they are from and which you can then follow up on. 

10.  You can also search Google. You can simply enter the person's name, or, if you have a name (Esther Gil) and email address (egil@du.edu), you could enter the following in its search box to find the individual at a specific website, in this case, that of University of Denver:

esther gil site:du.edu

 

 

Business & Economics Librarian / Associate Professor

Esther Gil's picture
Esther Gil
Subjects: Accounting, Business Information & Analytics, Business Ethics & Legal Studies, Economics, Finance, Hospitality Management, Management, Marketing, Real Estate & Construction Management
Contact:
University Libraries
2150 E. Evans Ave.
Denver, CO 80210
303-871-3412