Library Guides: Veterans Legacy Program: Newspaper and Obituaries

Contemporary US and International

All DU Libraries Current Newspaper Collections

Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Ethnic Newswatch
Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.

Military Newspapers

Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
A vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War.
Service Newspapers of World War II
This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment, and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. The collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects.

Stars & Stripes 1918-1919

Historical US, including ethnic

All DU Libraries Historical Newspapers Subscription Databases

SELECTED historical newspaper titles in alphabetical order are listed below. For the full list, click on link above.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database that provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture and daily life in 19th-century America of interest to both professional and general researchers.
America's Historical Newspapers
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.
American Indian Newspapers
This resource contains national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016, including some bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions.
American Israelite (1854-2000) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Archives Unbound: Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.

Black Newspapers (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.
Boston Globe (1872-1985) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The devastating 1872 Boston fire. The suspenseful 1893 Lizzie Borden ax murder trial. The catastrophic 1919 police strike. Mid-20th-century decline and renewal. These dramatic stories as well as accounts of everyday life in historical New England await your online researchers in the digitized pages of The Boston Globe (1872-1979).
Chicago Tribune (1849-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
After being provoked by Joseph Pulitzer's New York World newspaper for her unconventional religious ideas, 87-year-old Mary Baker Eddy founded The Christian Science Monitor.
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection
A project in progress with the goal of digitizing Colorado's historic newspapers from the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries.
Denver Post
Provides news, business, features, sports and an editorial section for the region and has bureaus throughout the state of Colorado and in Washington, D.C.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
Provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history; with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Hartford Courant (1764-1991) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
America's longest continuously published newspaper, The Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation. Study life in the U.S. from its very formation during the American Revolution, to its near collapse during the Civil War, and to its growth throughout the 20th century.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Indianapolis Star (1903-1922) ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
For over 100 years, the largest paper in Indiana has been a watchdog and advocate for its community. Early on, it promoted the creation of the city's first charter, exposed graft by the state's Supreme Court judges, and won a libel suit filed against it by the U.S. government when the paper dared to question Roosevelt's work on the Panama Canal.
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.
Jewish American Newspapers
Historical newspapers including The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)‎, The American Israelite (1854-1922)‎, The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)‎, & The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)‎
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Jewish Exponent has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Delivers unique coverage of the development of Southern California and the American West.
Newsday (1940-1988) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Newspapers.com World Collection
Database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers, dating from the 1690s to present.
New York Times (US Newsstream)
It may be known as "America's newspaper," but for more than a century, The New York Times has commanded an international readership. Includes today's articles.
New York Times with Index (1851-2013) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.
New York Tribune (1841-1922) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Horace Greeley, founder of the New York Tribune, was arguably one of the most colorful and powerful publishers of his time. His editorials influenced the abolishment of slavery, plagued presidents and politicians, and encouraged the settlement of the West.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides researchers the ability to digitally travel back through centuries to become eyewitnesses to history. One can find front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types.
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Not earthquakes, not fires, not even the murder of one of its owners by a minister could stop the independent and often irreverent presses of the San Francisco Chronicle.
St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
At the turn of the 20th century, St. Louis was the fourth largest city in the U.S., home to a large population of German and Irish immigrants, and a major crossroads for the migration of Americans to the West and North. The St. Louis Post-Dispatch captures this movement and the growth of a nation, and provides a Midwestern perspective on major events of the day.
Wall Street Journal (1889-1999) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal (formerly known as the Customers' Afternoon Letter) as a markets-focused newspaper for the country's then-fewer than 200,000 shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues.
Washington Post (1877-2000) (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post (1877-1993) is an unparalleled resource for today's budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.

Obituaries

DPL's Denver Obituary Project
Index to obituaries in the Denver Post and Rocky Mountain News from 1913 to 2016.

If you have a Denver Public Library card, you can search for obituaries after 2016 in America's Obituaries and Death Notices (link on the Denver Obituary Project webpage).

Find a Grave

Find a Grave

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Veterans Legacy Program: Newspaper and Obituaries

Newspaper articles and obituaries

Contemporary US and International

Military Newspapers

Historical US, including ethnic

Obituaries

Find a Grave