Skip to main content

Marketing 4530 Research Guide - Organic Skincare Industry: Company Research

Contents

Sources for Company Research

Use the databases in this section to find profiles and/or other data about the companies you are researching.

If you have determined that a company is publicly traded, you will be able to find many sources that provide financial summaries, investment analyst reports (such as those provided via Thomson ONE), as well as their 10-Ks or 20-Fs.

If your company is private, as is the case with Hulu, LLC, start with PrivCo.

If your company is a non-U.S. , private company, use Orbis.

SWOTS

Another strategy for researching companies that are publicly traded, privately held, or subsidiaries, is to look in sources that provide SWOTS. SWOT stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats.

MarketLine Company Profiles Authority, which is listed below, provides SWOTS for selected public and private companies.   ABI/Inform Collection also provides SWOTS.

You should also use articles and annual reports (if it is a public company), and/or the company's website to do the SWOT analysis.

Rankings

Finding company rankings or market share are other strategies you can include when researching companies. These are often reported in trade journals and can be found in commercial databases as well as on the Internet. Some sources are provided below.

Information and Tips for Conducting Private Company and Subsidiaries Research

In general you will not be able to find detailed financials for the majority of subsidiaries or private companies that exist in the U.S. However, PrivCo does have information for over 850,000 privately-held U.S. companies, and there are some subsidiaries that may be trading independently of the parent.  Here are some tips for private company and subsidiaries research:

  • Search PrivCo.
  • Use a database like ReferenceUSA which will provide estimated sales figures for these types of companies.
  • Most companies have websites, so you should comb through them for information.
  • If the company is a subsidiary, identify the parent.  Then determine whether the parent is publicly traded or not. If the parent is trading publicly, information about the subsidiary may be provided in the 10-K, including revenue figures for two or three years.
  • Use databases like ABI/Inform Collection, or others that are identified in the Articles section of this guide, to find out if anything has been written about these companies in magazines, trade periodicals, or newspapers.
  • Another strategy would be to look at credit reports for these types of companies.Experian Powered Business reports provide the recent credit information for companies and can be found in LexisNexis Academic.
  • Information about a private company or subsidiaries may be included in market research or industry reports, so be alert when looking at these types of sources. In addition, an annual report for a publicly-traded company may provide some information about privately-held competitors.
  • Use industry financial benchmarks, which you can find in Bizminer,or a print source like RMA Annual Statement Studies.
  • If your company is from Europe, regardless of whether it is public, private, or subsidiary, use Orbis.

Tutorials

Organizations and Associations