The following sources can be found on University Libraries' reference shelves or in our catalog as e-Books. Each title is linked to the book’s catalog listing on University Libraries' website.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge
by Project Management Group
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
The PMBOK(R) Guide - Sixth Edition - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the Sixth Edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge-including discussion of project management business documents-and information on the PMI Talent Triangle(TM) and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Project Management, Planning and Control
by Albert Lester
Publication Date: 2013-09-16
Covering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook. With clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, which can pose particular challenges in engineering environments, this sixth edition includes new chapters on Agile project management and project governance, more real-life examples and updated software information. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM), and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding. It is also updated to match the latest BS 6079 standard for project management in construction. Focused on the needs and challenges of project managers in engineering, manufacturing and construction, and closely aligned to the content of the APM and PMI 'bodies of knowledge'. Structured according to the logical sequence of a major project, with a strong focus on planning, scheduling, budgeting, and control--critical elements in the management of engineering projects. Includes project management questions and answers, compiled by a former APM exam assessor, to help you test your knowledge and prepare for professional examinations.
The Oxford Handbook of Project Management
by Peter W. G. Morris (Editor); Jeffrey K. Pinto (Editor); Jonas Söderlund (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
This Handbook presents and discusses leading ideas in the management of projects. Positioning project management as a domain much broader and more strategic than simply 'execution management', this Handbook draws on the insights of over 40 scholars to chart the development of the subject overthe last 50 years or more as an area of increasing practical and academic interest. It suggests we could be entering an emerging 'third wave' of analysis and interpretation following its early technical and operational beginnings and the subsequent shift to a focus on projects and their management. Topics dealt with include: the historical evolution of the subject; its theoretical base; professionalism; business and societal context; strategy; organization; governance; innovation; overruns; risk; information management; procurement; relationships and trust; knowledge management; practice andteams. This handbook is of particular relevance to those interested in the research issues underlying project management.
by Harold Kerzner
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Providing a comprehensive collection of case studies in one accessible volume, "Project Management Case Studies" features one hundred cases drawn from real companies that illustrate both successful and poor implementation of project management. Covering broad areas of project management plus construction and international project management, this fourth edition of the most popular book of project management case studies maintains the popular "super case" on the Iridium Project. "Project Management Case Studies" supplements any textbook on the subject.
Agile Project Management
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Management and enables them to 4al with the 4mands and complexities of mo4rn, agile systems/software/hardware 4velopment teams. The book examines the project/program manager beyond the concepts of lea4rship and aims to connect to employees' sense of i4ntity. The text examines human psychological concepts such as locus of control, which will help the manager un4rstand their team members view and how best to manage their world contributions. The authors cover new management tools and philosophies for agile systems/software/hardware 4velopment teams, with a specific focus on how this relates to engineering and computer science. This book also inclu4s practical case studies.Discusses management skills nee4d as they relate to the advances in software 4velopment practicesExamines how to manage an agile 4velopment team that inclu4s teams across geographically, ethnically, and culturally diverse backgroundsEmbraces all of the aspects of mo4rn management and lea4rship"