Library Guides: Guide to Using Media in Courses: Creating & Managing Playlists and Clips

Start here!

Choose a topic below to navigate to that section:

Playlists in Kanopy Video
Clips in Kanopy Video
Playlists in Alexander Street Press Collections
Clips in Alexander Street Press Collections
Playlists in Naxos Music Library

Add a Video to an Existing Playlist in Kanopy Video, Method 1

This method picks up where "Add a Video to a New Playlist" (above) leaves off.

1. In the list of “Existing playlists,” click the “edit playlist” link next to the desired playlist. This opens the playlist for editing.

2. Click the link labeled “Click here to add a new clip.” This opens a search box.

3. Search for a new video and click on one from the list of search results.

4. Your new video is now in your playlist, after the one you added earlier.

5. Click and drag the clips in the playlist to change their order.

Add a Video to a New Playlist in Kanopy Video

1. First, create a personal user account in Kanopy Video. To create and manage playlists, you must be logged in to Kanopy (after DU authentication) with your own personal account. Use the “Log in” or “Sign up” links at the top right corner of the Kanopy landing page as appropriate.

2. Search for a video title in Kanopy and click on one from the list of search results.

3. Click “Create Clip/Playlist”

4.Give your playlist a title in the “Create New Playlist” field

5. Your video is now in the playlist you just created, which is listed under “Existing Playlists.”

Add a Video to an Existing Playlist in Kanopy Video, Method 2

Use this method if you want to add new content to a playlist you created previously.

1. Search for a video from the main Kanopy searchbox, and click on one from the list of search results.

2. Click “Create Clip/Playlist”

3. Choose your desired playlist from the list of “Existing playlists.”

4. Click the “Add video” link next to that playlist.

Creating a Clip in Kanopy Video

2. Clips in Kanopy are created in the playlist editor, so a video must be added to a playlist before a clip of it can be created. See instructions for creating and managing playlists for this step.

3. Once you are logged in and your video is in a playlist, click on your username (top right corner of the window) and select your playlist from “My Dashboard” > “My Playlists.”

4. Open your playlist for editing.

5. Within the playlist, open an individual video for editing

Your video is now defined as a “clip,” with these parameters:

Title: Title of the original video
Clip description: An empty text field. You can enter or paste as much text as you like.
Start time: 00.00
End time: (corresponds to end of clip)

6. Play your video, and navigate to approximate place you want to start a clip.

7. Click the “Capture” button next to “Start Time” to set the beginning of your clip. Then, click the “Capture” button next to “Stop Time” to set the end of your clip.

You may adjust the playback speed of your video with a selector in the media player. This can be very useful for fine-tuning the beginning and end of the clip.

You may also use the “forward” and “back” arrows on your keyboard to skip ahead or back 10 seconds at a time. (These keyboard shortcuts can become disabled as you use other controls. To re-enable them, toggle between “Fullscreen” and normal view.)

Alternatively, you may manually enter exact times for the beginning and end of your clip.

8. Click “Save clip,” and then “Save changes.”

9. For a single clip, create a playlist of just one video and then edit it. For a playlist of multiple clips, add the videos to the playlist first, then edit the clips.

Creating a New Playlist in Alexander Street Press Collections "Legacy Platform"

NOTE: These instructions are for use with Alexander Street Press collections hosted on ASP's "Legacy Platform." This platform is entirely separate and independent from ASP's "new platform." Content in one platform is not discoverable through the other. Clips and playlist saved in one platform are not accessible in the other. Collections on the legacy platform include:

Border and Migration Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online
Revolution and Protest Online
Security Issues Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Environmental Issues Online
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Music Online: Popular Music Library
Music Online: American Music
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

1. First, create a personal user account in Alexander Street Press. (This link is to the collection "Human Rights Studies Online," but you can access all our ASP collections once you are in any of them.) To create and manage playlists, you must be logged in to ASP (after DU authentication) with your own personal account. Use the “User Profile” icon in the top right corner to access “Log in” or “Create New Account” as appropriate.

2. Once you are logged in, access the ASP collection you want to search.

Click on Menu hamburger at top left

This exposes the “My Collections” drop-down menu. Select your desired collection. You can use a single ASP user account for all ASP collections.

3. Search the collection and select a title.

4. When the title opens, select “Playlist” under the media player. A dialogue labeled “Add to / create playlist” will open in popup window.

The popup may take a few seconds to open. Meanwhile, the window behind the popup may say something confusing like “Your list (0 items).” Don’t let this throw you off. The popup should open if you are patient.

5. In the popup, enter a name for your new playlist in the field labeled “Create a new playlist.” Then click the “Create” button.

Creating a new list with your selected item returns to the “Your list (0 items)” page behind the popup. This, again, can be confusing. But a new page is loading, although it may take a few seconds.

6. The new page will read “Playlist: [playlist name] by [your user account].

The visibility option for your playlist will default to "just me." To make your playlist discoverable by others, click the "Edit playlist" button and change this setting as appropriate.

A permanent link and embed code to this playlist are available from a button under the playlist title. The embed code can be pasted into the HTML of a Canvas page or another webpage, to make this playlist part of that page. You can also share the playlist by posting or emailing the link.

Adding Content an Existing Playlist in Alexander Street Press Collections

1. Follow steps 1-4 for creating a new playlist.

2. When you reach the “Add to / create playlist” dialogue popup, choose an existing playlist from the drop-down menu and add your selected title. Save.

3. Access this or any other playlist you have created through your user account.

Once logged in, click on the Menu hamburger at the top left of the window. This will expose the link “Playlists.” Click this link.

The “filter by” menu on the left side of the playlists page will default to “Just me,” meaning pivate playlists only. To see playlists you have shared, change this setting to the appropriate value

Once you change this setting to “Shared with everyone,” you will see all playlists by all creators displayed. In order to see just the playlists you have created, change another setting under “Playlists” – change this from “All public playlists” to “Show only my playlists.”

You will see a menu of all the playlists you have created.

You can copy permanent links and embed code for playlists from this menu. The embed code can be pasted into the HTML of a Canvas page or another webpage, to make this playlist part of that page. You can also share the list by posting or emailing the permanent link.

Creating a Clip in Alexander Street Press Collections "LegacyPlatform"

1. First, create a personal user account in Alexander Street Press. (This link is to the collection "Human Rights Studies Online," but you can access all our ASP collections once you are in any of them.) To create and manage playlists, you must be logged in to ASP (after DU authentication) with your own personal account. Use the “User Profile” icon in the top right corner to access “Log in” or “Create New Account” as appropriate.

Unlike Kanopy Video, Alexander Street Press allows you to create clips independently of playlists.

2. Once you are logged in, access the ASP collection you want to search.

Click on the Menu hamburger at top left.

This exposes the “My Collections” drop-down menu. Select your desired collection. You can use a single ASP user account for all ASP collections.

3. Search the collection and select a title.

4. Open the title and click the “scissors” icon near the bottom right corner of the media player.

This opens a green “start” slider and a red “end” slider at either end of the media player progress bar.

Drag these sliders to define the beginning and end of desired clip.

Use the magnifier icon if desired to help you precisely position the beginning and ending of the clip.

Alternatively, enter the timings of the beginning and end of the clip manually.

If you leave them where they are and click “Save,” the whole title will be saved as a single clip.

Add notes if desired. You can enter or paste as much text as you wish into the “Notes” field.

Set the visibility value to make your clip private, shared universally, or somewhere in between.

5. The “bookmark” icon simply allows you to create a clip with only the beginning defined.

6. Save your clip. It will now appear in a new “Clips” menu to the right of the media player.

This “Clips” menu will be visible any time you are logged in to your user account and access the original title.

To edit an existing clip, you must access it from this menu.

7. A list of all your clips is also accessible from the top left Menu hamburger > Clips > “Show only my clips.”

Permanent links and embed codes to clips can be copied from this list. The embed code can be pasted into the HTML of a Canvas page or another webpage, to make this playlist part of that page. You can also share the playlist by posting or emailing the permanent link.

To edit an existing clip, starting from this list, then click on the clip title to play the clip. The clip will open in the media player, with the clip revealed in the “Clips” menu. From there, you may open the clip for editing.

How to Make Playlists in Naxos Music Library

(Note: Clip creation is not supported by NML.)

1. To create a playlist in NML, log in to your personal user account after authenticating through DU’s subscription.

To access the login page or to create a new account, first click on “Playlists” in the ribbon menu near the top of the page under the Keyword Search bar.

You will see three tabs in a new window: “University of Denver Playlists,” “Naxos Music Library Playlists,” and “Themed Playlists.”

There is also a link to a useful “Playlist User Guide”

2. After logging in, you will see a new tab: “[your name] Playlists”

Search and find a recording.

Select the track(s) you want to add to a playlist

Click “Add to Playlist” in the menu on the left side of the page.

A playlist dialogue will open in a pop-up window.

Select an existing playlist or “Create New Playlist.”

Click “Add to Playlist.”

Repeat as desired.

3. Your playlist will be visible in the “[your name] Playlists” tab whenever you are logged in to your user account.

You may create folders and move playlists among folders as desired.

A static URL is available (checkbox is at upper right of playlist window) for playlists in “University of Denver Playlists,” “Naxos Music Library Playlists,” and “Themed Playlists” tabs, but not for playlists in the “[your name] Playlists” tab.

When you play a playlist, the media player opens in a pop-up and you can copy the (admittedly long) URL from the address bar in this pop-up to share the playlist.

However, if you do this on the DU campus, the link will only work on the DU campus, where it can automatically authenticate.

To convert this link to a link that will work off the DU campus, use the EZProxy Link Generator.

4. To make a playlist available within NML to other DU users, you must authenticate into NML with a faculty/staff credential.

Contact the Music Librarian for this credential.

With this authentication, the individual user account is not available, but playlists can be created in the institutional account.

First click “Log Out,” highlighted in red next to “Welcome University of Denver” in the top left corner of the NML window. Then log back in with the faculty/staff credential.

Create a folder with your name or other appropriate label in the “University of Denver Playlists” tab.

Search and select tracks as before; click “Add to Playlist” as before.

In the “add to playlist” dialogue, select “University of Denver Playlists” tab and the appropriate folder.

Choose “Create New Playlist” or existing playlist as appropriate.

Click “add to playlist” and repeat as desired.

Your folder and playlist will now appear to all DU-authenticated users in the “University of Denver Playlists” tab.

You can now copy a static URL to your playlist and share it with other DU users.

To return to the student authentication, log out of NML and then access it again through DU databases (or the link on this LibGuide).

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Guide to Using Media in Courses