Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | U | W | #

A

Academic Search Complete Database
by Research Center - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
This libguide will help you to learn how to use the multidisciplinary database, Academic Search Complete. Updated by Jenny Rodger on November 21, 2011. Current as of 12/15/11 DS

ADMN 4849 Action Research for School Leaders
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Sep 6, 2011
This course guide is intended for students enrolled in ADMN 4849. It provides tips and resources for undertaking action research.

American Elections
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Discover Penrose databases and official Web sites dealing with American elections.

American Government
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

American Youth Violence
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
This is a class-specific research guide created to help students find books, articles, statistics, and other scholarly research materials about youth violence in the United States.


ANTH 2020 Artifacts, Texts, and Meanings
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Aug 17, 2010
This is a course-specific research guide designed to help students analyze an artifact from the DU Museum of Anthropology collection.

Anthropology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research in anthropology.

APA Style Guide for Business
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012

Archival Resources
by Steve Fisher - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011
A guide to archival resources at Penrose Library and other institutions.

Aristocrats 1660-1800
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Mar 22, 2010

Art - eMAD Graduate Seminar
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Aug 16, 2010

Art - Photography
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Sep 23, 2010

Art - Professional Practice
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011

Art - Websites for Studio Artists
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011

Art and Art History
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated May 8, 2012


Art History - Native American Art
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

ART2820 - Survey of Art
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jan 25, 2011

ARTH 3832 - Nineteenth Century Art
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Aug 16, 2010


ASEM 2671 Women and the Wild West
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Nov 30, 2010
This course is a course guide for the Women's College interterm class ASEM 2671.

ASEM: The Unfathomable Russian Soul
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Identity and Self-Perception in 19th Century Literature and Culture

Asian Studies
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Sep 23, 2011
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Asian Studies to help you begin your research process.

B
BACP - LOS 2050 - Organizational Behavior
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Mar 17, 2010
This guide will help LOS 2050 students with online research.

BACP - LOS 2100 - Leadership
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Mar 17, 2010
This guide will help LOS 2100 students with online research.

BACP - LOS 3150 - Working in Groups and Teams
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Mar 17, 2010
This guide will help LOS 3150 students with online research.

Biological Sciences
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011

British Studies
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Mar 24, 2012
A research guide to British studies.

Business Plan Research
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The sources listed below are a few core tools to help you begin your research process. The Penrose Library Homepage is located at http://library.du.edu.

C
Career Resources Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jul 12, 2011

Celebrating Books & More
by Research Center, Erin Meyer - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Find out more information about current book displays and find bibliographies of past book displays here!

Center for Research Libraries
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Aug 11, 2010

Chemistry Information Sources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Sep 21, 2011
This is the Turro Corollary on mastering the chemical literature -- "Three months in the laboratory can save a couple of hours in the library."

China - Business Research Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012

Coffee Research Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 21, 2011

Company Research
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012

Comparative Politics
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 15, 2009

COMPOSITION SEMINAR
by Suzanne Moulton-Gertig - Last Updated Sep 27, 2010
Gathering information on contemporary composers, compositional styles, and other wirtings.

Computer Science Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011



Cool Tools
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012

CORE 2620 Inventing America: Dissent and Democratic Culture
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Apr 3, 2010
This research guide exposes books, article databases, statistical and primary sources, and bibliographic tools which will assist the diligent student. This guide was created by Robin Filipczak (Robin.Filipczak@du.edu) and is maintained by Jenny Bowers.

Country Studies
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

Course Reserves for Faculty
by Jennifer Brown - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012

Course Reserves Guide for Students
by Jennifer Brown - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012

Creative Communities Workshop
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jun 7, 2010
A reference services and strategies workshop focusing on patrons in the creative arts.

Criminology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Mar 3, 2010

CUI 4058 Teacher as Researcher
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Mar 27, 2010
This course guide is intended for students enrolled in CUI 4058. It provides tips and resources for undertaking research as a school practitioner.

D

Digital Media Studies
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

E
E-books
by Research Center, Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jan 7, 2012
This guide is designed to give users an introduction to e-books and provide more information on the many e-Book resources Penrose has to offer.

E-Journal Finder
by Research Center - Last Updated Apr 4, 2010
Use this page to locate full text journal content.

Early Childhood Leadership
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Jan 20, 2011

Economic and Statistical Sources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research process. The Penrose Library Homepage is located at http://library.du.edu.

Education
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Mar 25, 2010

Educational Testing and Measurement
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Sep 29, 2010
Tests and measurements are instruments that quantify specific traits, aptitudes or knowledge. Use this guide to locate test information, reviews, and copies of educational tests.

Engineering Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Sep 16, 2011


English
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Dec 15, 2009



English Literature - Chaucer
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Apr 21, 2010


English Literature - Victorians in Italy
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jan 18, 2011
Professor McNees' seminar on the Victorians’ obsession with Italy and Italian history and culture.


Environmental Finance and Economics
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
This research guide was created for the University College course EPM 4003.

Environmental Management and Policy Resources
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
This guides presents global environment issues with an emphasis on public policy, international documents, and current events.

Environmental Science Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012

F
Faculty Resources
by Peggy Keeran, Carrie Forbes, Esther Gil - Last Updated Aug 4, 2011

Film Studies
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
This guide's focus is on the study of film. Included are selected tools to locate books, articles, reviews, biographies of individuals affiliated with all aspects of film, as well as box office data.

Finding the Full-Text of Articles with a Citation
by Research Center - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Offers steps to find the full-text of an article with a citation. This guide was updated by Josh Patton on January 5, 2012.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Documents
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009
[General description of FBIS program and docs]

Foreign Press Translations In Print
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

Foreign Press Translations In Print
by Research Center, Chris Brown - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
Foreign Press Translations in Print is a research guide to collection of historic radio translations and transcriptions from serials issued in the Cold War era. Current as of 12/15/11 DS

Forensic Psychology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Nov 17, 2010
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Forensic Psychology to help you begin your research.

Free Health Resources
by Research Center - Last Updated Jul 11, 2010
This guide provides links to several health resources. These resources provide reliable information that has been reviewed by professionals in the field. All of these resources are available to use free of charge, regardless of your DU affiliation.

FSEM 1111 - 07 - Wild Colorado
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Dec 15, 2009

FSEM 1111-05 -Fake IDs: Assumed Identities in America
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Oct 5, 2010
Fake IDs: Assumed Identities in America -


FSEM 1500 Women in Transformation
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
This course guide is intended for students enrolled in the Women's College class FSEM 1500.



G
Gender and Women's Studies
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Nov 24, 2010

General Science Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011

Geoscience Information Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011


Government Documents (Federal)
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Jul 12, 2011
Learn how to find US government documents in Penrose Library and online.

Government Documents Ready Reference Online Shelf
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009
Use these links to navigate U.S. federal government reference resources.

Guide for Economic Graduate Students on How Write & Present a Thesis
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
This guide provides some sources for beginning the research process as well as identifying subscription based databases for research in Economics. Further Economic sources are available on the following research guide: Economic and Statistical Sources.

Guide for Economic Undergraduate Students on How to Write & Present a Thesis
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
This guide provides some sources for beginning the research process as well as identifying subscription based databases for research in Economics. Further Economic sources are available on the following research guide: Economic and Statistical Sources.

H
Healthcare Leadership
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
This research guide contains resources that will help you conduct research related to both the business and medical aspects of healthcare leadership. You can find books, databases, journals, and freely available websites in the other tabs of this guide.

Heath and Medical Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011

HIST 1520 Immigrant Voices in Modern America
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated May 4, 2012
This is a course research guide for students in HIST 1520.

HIST 3670 U.S. Home Front In WWII
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Jul 12, 2011

Human Communication
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research process in communication.

I
ICT 4010 Enterprise Architecture
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Research guide for ICT 4010 Enterprise Architecture

Images
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
This guide was created by Rachel Hartman (rachel.hartman@du.edu) and is maintained by Peggy Keeran.

Industry Research
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012


International Disaster Psychology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011
This guide is designed to support the general research needs of students in the GSPP International Disaster Psychology program at the University of Denver.


International Management and Marketing Resources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research process. The Penrose Library Homepage is located at http://library.du.edu

International Studies
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011

Internet Searching
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009
This guide will enable you to understand what is available on the Internet, how to use search engines, and how to find information on the "hidden Internet." You will also learn how to evaluate Internet resources.


L

Laws and Regulations (United States)
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009

Legislative Research (United States)
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Jan 4, 2011
How to track a laws from the bill stage though passage into law.

Library and Information Science
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated May 7, 2012

Library Instruction Services
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
The reference librarians at Penrose Library offer many different instructional workshops, guides, and tutorials to help the DU community learn about library research. Please take a look at our guide to see what we have to offer!

Literary Research: Strategies and Sources
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Oct 23, 2011
A Scarecrow Press series.

Literature - English-language literatures
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Nov 13, 2010
The following are recommended resources for literary research.

Luggage, Accessories, and E-commerce
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012

M
MALS 4020 Graduate Research and Writing
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
This is a class specific research guide for the University College class Graduate Research & Writing.

Management 2000 - Foundations of Business and Management
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
This guide provides some basic sources for assignments.

Marketing 2800 Research Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
This guide has been created for the Marketing 2800 class.


Marketing 4100 - Marketing Concepts
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 6, 2012
This guide is relevant not only for Marketing 4100, but also for XMBA 4360 (Strategic Marketing) and other similar marketing courses.

Marketing 4705: Public Sector Marketing
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jan 17, 2012

Mass Communication and Journalism
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Mar 3, 2010
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Mass Communications and Journalism Studies to help you begin your research process.

Mathematics Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011

Mesoamerican Manuscripts
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011

Multimodal Resources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012

Museum Studies
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
This guide focuses on the subject areas of Museum Studies, Anthropology, and Art Conservation. Included in the research guide are research tools, suggested books, journals, and websites that pertain to each of the three topics.

Music Research Materials - General
by Suzanne Moulton-Gertig - Last Updated Sep 24, 2010
This guide includes basic materials used in music research that are in print as well as database (including audio) format

N
Native American Studies
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jul 21, 2011
This guide aims to provide students a place to begin their research of Native Americans. The following are a few of the core print and electronic resources that will assist students during the research process.

Nonprofit Resources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012

Nuts & Nut Butters Research Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
This guide has been created for the Marketing 4550 class, but can be used by others doing similar research.

P
Physics Information Sources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
This is a list of some of the best resources for physics research.

Political Science - State Politics
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Aug 4, 2011
This guide provides a framework for finding online and print resources related to state politics within the United States.

Prospector Tutorial
by Research Center - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012
Through Prospector you have access to millions of books, journals, DVDs, and other circulating materials from libraries around the states of Colorado and Wyoming. This guide is to help you learn more about Prospector and how to use it.

Psychology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jun 30, 2011
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Psychology to help you begin your research. This guide was originally created by Nonny Schlotzhauer, and updated by

Psychosocial Instruments
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Mar 21, 2011
This guide is intended to assist in finding information about instruments, as well as identifying and locating psychosocial instruments and their reviews.

PsycINFO Database
by Research Center, Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Dec 14, 2011
Use this libguide to learn about the popular database for Psychology, PsycINFO.

Public Opinion Research
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009

Public Policy
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Jul 14, 2011

R
Reading for Pleasure
by Research Center - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
How to find the books you'll love to read.

RefWorks Tutorial
by Chris Brown, Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
Learn how to use this powerful bibliography software to manage book and journal article citations, and create bibliographies in APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.


Renewable Energy Information Sources
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Sep 14, 2010

Research Funding & Grants for Graduate Students
by Carrie Forbes, Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide was created for graduate students who are interested in finding grants and scholarships for their research.

Resources for American History
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
This guide provides information on both primary and secondary resources useful for American History research.

Resources in Astronomy
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Apr 8, 2010

Restaurant Industry Resources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
This guide identifies souces that can be used for restaurant industry research

S
Satellite Television Services Research Guide
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
This guide has been created for the Marketing 4550 class, but can be used by others doing research on this industry.

Scholarly Business Research
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012


Searching Summon
by Research Center - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011

Security Analysis
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research process. The Penrose Library Homepage is located at http://library.du.edu.

Security Studies
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011

Ski / Snow Industry Resources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Apr 5, 2011
Many of the same sources can be used for the ski industry, snowboard industry, etc.

Social Work
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching Social Work.The following are a few core tools to help you begin your research process.

Sociology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Mar 3, 2010
Penrose Library owns a variety of print and electronic resources to use when researching your topics. The following are a few core tools in Sociology to help you begin your research.


SOWK 4118 Historical U.S. Immigration Policy
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jul 14, 2011
This research guide is designed to help students find books, articles, and primary source material in support of the immigration policy assignment. Please also check the SOWK 4118 History of Social Welfare and Social Work guide for additional sources.

SOWK 4118 History of Social Welfare and Social Work
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
This is a class-specific research guide created to help students find books, articles, primary source material, statistics, and other scholarly research resources about the history of social welfare and social work in the United States.

SOWK4120 Social Welfare Policy
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jul 14, 2011


Sport and Performance Psychology
by Jenny Bowers - Last Updated Jan 18, 2011
This guide is designed to support the general research needs of students in the GSPP Sport and Performance Psychology program at the University of Denver.

Sports Industry Resources
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
This guide provides resources for different aspects of the sports industry.

Study Spaces Guide
by Jenelys Cox - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Welcome to the Study Spaces Guide, where you can find information on spaces available across campus. Study spaces may be viewed by location or amenity.

Style Manuals and Citation Guides
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Dec 2, 2010


T
Teacher Education Program
by Carrie Forbes - Last Updated Sep 6, 2011

The Penrose Library Catalog
by Research Center - Last Updated Jan 7, 2012
How to search the Library Catalog and locate items throughout Library Stacks.

Theatre
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Sep 27, 2010


Treaty Resources
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Dec 23, 2009
Treaties and other international agreements can be very interesting, but also very challenging to locate. This guide will assist you in finding treaty resources in Penrose Library, the Law Library, and on the Internet.

U
United Nations Research
by Chris Brown - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011
This guide will assist International Studies students, Model United Nations participants, and anyone doing UN research.

W
Water and Food Sustainability
by Joe Kraus - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
For EPM 4238.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
by Esther Gil - Last Updated Jun 30, 2011
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

WRIT 1122 - Visual Rhetoric
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012

WRIT Classes- Interdisciplinary and Discipline-based Resources
by Peggy Keeran - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012
Below are selected resources to get you started with research for your Writing class. The guide contains resources to help with both interdisciplinary and discipline-based research.


#

Information on Library Building Project

The Penrose Library Academic Commons project will create an entirely new library in the same location, at the heart of campus. Improvements to Penrose's current location will make it a more inviting and energy efficient library in which students and faculty can research, study, and learn.

During the building project, most Penrose Library services (Circulation, Reserves, Research Center, Writing Center, computer lab, study space) are available at the interim location, Penrose@Driscoll in the north part of the Driscoll Student Center.  Please see our Library Map for the temporary locations of all library services.

Books and other print materials are being stored off-site at the Hampden Center. Materials can be requested for delivery to Penrose@Driscoll by using the Request It! button located in each Library Catalog record.

The new Penrose Library is scheduled to reopen in December 2012.  For continuing updates on the Penrose Library Academic Commons building project, please see the building project website.  Please contact us if you have any questions. 

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Brown
Contact Info
871-3431
Send Email
Subjects:
Reserves