This is the "Home" page of the "Ira M. and Peryle Hayutin Beck Memorial Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ira M. and Peryle Hayutin Beck Memorial Archives   Tags: diversity, inclusive_excellence, irise  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.du.edu/beck Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ira M. and Peryle Hayutin Beck Memorial Archives - Preserving Our Past for the Future

The Ira M. Beck Memorial Archives (now the Ira M. and Peryle Hayutin Beck Memorial Archives) was established in 1976 in memory of Ira M. Beck, a prominent Denver businessman devoted to cultural arts and Jewish communal life. The Beck Archives and the Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Society work together in tandem to preserve and publicize the vibrant Jewish experience in the Rocky Mountain Region.

Housed on the University of Denver campus since 1976, the Ira M. and Peryle Hayutin Beck Memorial Archives of Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Society formally became a part of University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives Department in 1992. The Archives serve not only as a repository of the heritage of Jewish culture and history of the region, but also as a necessary aid to researchers studying the Jewish history and sociology of the Rocky Mountain West and the American Jewish experience. The Archives contain a variety of materials including manuscripts, private papers, institutional records, oral histories, photographs, newspapers, memorabilia and microfilmed documents that reflect the history of organizations and businesses, and the lives of individuals who have contributed to the building of Jewish life in the area. Of special interest are the Jewish Consumptives' Relief Society (JCRS) and National Jewish Hospital for Consumptives (NJH) collections, which shed light on immigration, health, and ethnic history in America.

Many of the textiles and objects as well as highlights of the 3,000 photos in the Ira M. Beck Memorial Archives have been digitized. These items reflect the history and culture of the Colorado Jewish community from the late 1800s to the 1990s.

 

Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Notes and Readings

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jeanne Abrams, Director of the Beck Archives
Contact Info
303-871-3016
Send Email

Special Collections

Special Collections at the University of Denver is located in Room 101 on the lower level of the Anderson Academic Commons.

Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-4:00pm

Phone: 303.871.3428

E-Mail: archives@du.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip